Another newbie question (mp3 data disc - nero - wont play in mp3 boombox)

Hi all,
I am new here and in general I have some experience and understanding (so i think) about what I am trying to do yet haven’t been able to get it to work.

I have a GPX boombox from target that plays mp3 discs (verified by box and manual) its the reason i bought the thing…

I have nero 5.5.10.15 version and a Cendyne (Pioneer) 105 burner on a win2k machine.

I realize the cdr discs that will play in this unit would need to be created as data mode not audio mode, (I do understand how i can drag mp3 files in audio and make a music cd) I am trying to save the actual mp3 data files in data mode for my mp3 compatible boombox to play.

Here is where I am stuck, I go into nero, choose data disc, go into properties choose non multisession (which should finalize the disc right?) yet when I burn mp3 data (tried it both as straight mp3 files no folders as well as with folders) neither disc seems to work in the player.

I have also tried different media thinking maybe this box doesn’t like TDK media but that too didn’t work, what is really weird is in NERO if I check the created disc (which I have even had nero verify the files on) it shows as an open session, I choose close session, it takes a few seconds the burn light flickers yet when I refresh and recheck the disc it still shows as OPEN session.

And when I try to use my computer to just explore the disc (to see the data) it won’t even show me any disc contents, I have even put the created data disc of mp3s into my dvdrom drive to try and explore it but it shows nothing on the disc (yet properties shows disc is full).

This is driving me batty cuz in general I have messed with cdrs for 10 years making audio and data discs and have even dabbled around with dvd-r creations and vcds etc etc, just can’t get what to me seems very simple (create and play a MP3 Data disc) to work…