Another Annoying Newb Question

So I’m deeply sorry, as I know this has probably been asked 1 thousand different times in 1 thousand different ways but I’m really new to this copy/backup biz and I’m getting a little frustrated, so I figure why not ask the pros?

Between myself and my roommates we have several (in the hundreds) of DVD movies that we all love to watch when we can but if you’ve ever lived with roommates (3 + me in this case) you know that stuff is constantly being borrowed and lost or misplaced and yada yada something goes poof. We thought it would be perfect to make back ups of our movies to avoid the loss. If someone needs to take a movie or watch it in their room, they use the back up and the original is safe in the living room.

Unfortunately we’ve seemed to have run into a few problems.

Copying the movies themselves seems to be going well, we’re basically using CloneDVD2 and AnyDVD, taking the Files into DVD Shrink and cutting out the silly stuff that we don’t need and the everything is good to go and burn.

This is where I hit a big giant brick wall. I’ve used everything ImgBurn, Nero, Alch120, CloneDVD2 and a few others to burn the backup DVD. Every single time we cannot get the DVD copies to play in standalone DVD players, they play wonderfully in our computers using PowerDVD or the like but never in stand alones.

We tried changing the media we were burning too naturally, at first we were using Maxell DVD+R, then we tried Sony DVD-R and DVD+R, Memorex+R (I know bad, but was worth a try), and about 3 other quality makes. All no luck.

We always burn at 4X, but we’ve tried 2.4X and 8X. We’ve updated the firmware on my DVD-Burner, an LG 16X SL. Booktype is always DVD-Rom as is suggested on these forums.