Android MK809 II TV dongle Review

vbimport

I just posted the article Android MK809 II TV dongle Review.

The MK809 II is an Android powered device that effectively turns any TV (with HDMI input) into an advanced Smart TV, with access to a huge range of Android apps such as on Google Play. How well does it stream HD video, display web pages, etc.? Find out in the review.

Click to read the full article here: [http://www.myce.com/review/android-mk809-ii-tv-dongle-review-66488/](http://www.myce.com/review/android-mk809-ii-tv-dongle-review-66488/)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

I have been using an MK808 for three months which has close to the same specs as the MK809. IMO, it is the most PC you can buy for less than $50. It essentially turns any TV/monitor into a very capable Android tablet. I haven’t seen it hiccup at playing HD video. Even 1080p video at high bit rates. It looks like the MK809 adds Bluetooth but the MK808 supports wireless keyboards and mice. I use a combination gyro mouse and keyboard with mine.

I think these devices are the opening salvo as a PC that can take the place of one with Windows for basic computing needs and especially for an HTPC with very good media streaming capabilities. All one needs to use them is a TV or monitor with HDMI input. In a very short time they will be using quad core CPU and 12+ core GPUs and be sold at bargain basement prices.

I bought the ug802+ which includes a better antenna, but is only 2GB internal storage, with microsd slot, about 5-6 months ago.

XBMC released a new version which supports hardware 1080p video decoding about 3 weeks ago.

Astro isn’t great for stability, try es file explorer.

You can typically upgrade these units by copying the firmware to the internal sd card and rename the firmware update.img