Anatomy Of A Dying/Dead 716A

vbimport

First let me say I really liked my Plextor 716A. RIP my not so old friend. Only six months old and now one of the dearly departed to RMA heaven.

While a dead burner is no big news on this forum, I haven’t seen anyone who actually documented its demise like the way I, unfortunately, did.

Yesterday, all was well in whoville. I burned a couple of CD-R’s and a DVD+RW. The PxScan of that DVD+RW is even on this forum (http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=142795) and may have portended the eminent death that occured today. Is this the natural progression (degradation) of a DVD+RW after several rewrites or is it the beginning of the end?

Today, I opened up a fresh spindle of Taiyo Yuden 52X 80min CD-R’s purchased from meritline.com (nice $10 discount off). I have never used Taiyo Yuden CD-R’s before, but the DVD+R TY02’s I got from meritline are fantastic! I popped in the first disc from the spindle and “successfully” burned a full disc using Nero 6.6.x. Then I used Nero CD-DVD Speed’s Transfer Rate test and was greeted with “Error! L-EC Uncorrectable Error (031105)”, ATAPI error code for bad disc, unrecognizable MID, incorrect DMA setting or “unknown”. The only other clue I found on Goggle was a suggestion that the disc may be copywrite protected - which I know was not the case here. I then PxScanned the disc and the DOS window showed “Command Failed: BE(12) Position 73m45s” and then the same error at “76m41s”. Uh Oh! Never seen any of this before. (Can Alexnoe decipher “BE(12)” please?)

Then I used Nero CD-DVD Speed’s Create Data Disc to keep things nice and standardized. Using Nero’s Transfer Rate test, things got even more dicey, with a precipitous near vertical drop in speed from ~46X to ~4X at about 68 minutes. Never seen that before either.