An idiot needs help installing the 3520

vbimport

So, I decided to replace my SCSI Plextor 8x CD burner with the NEC 3520a, and decided to try to install it myself. I’m not very good with hardware.

I took out the old drive and removed the SCSI ribbon cable.

Then, I put in the 3520.

Then I attached connected the 3520 to the same same ribbon cable that goes to the CD/DVD player that came with the computer.

Now, neither the 3520 nor the drive that came with the computer are showing up.

I went into Control Panel and did Add New Hardware. It found neither drive.

(I’m using a Dell 8200 with XP, and plenty of memory, etc.)

What did I do wrong? I’m sure it’s something basic.

Thank you.

do you have 2 drives connected to the same cable?

Check the jumpers on the back of both drivers. One needs to be set to master and the other to slave. When you have them both set to the same you could lose both drivers, like you have. :slight_smile:

Yes they’re both on the same cable. Is that okay?

The Dell jumper is set at the leftmost position and the NEC jumper at the rightmost position. There are three positions for the jumper. Any idea where the NEC jumper should be put? I did look at the NEC site, but they have NOTHING about the 3520. Thanks again. (By the way, great Lincoln quote.)

Having both on the same cable is Ok, but one must be jumpered Master and the other Slave (equivalent to SCSI ID 0 & 1).

If the current drive is jumpered Cable Select (CS) then so should the other.

Brother Vlad

I would make the NEC Drive “Master”, which is the right hand set of pins if your facing the back of the drive, (there is a jumper diagram on the sticker on the top of the drive). On most drives the left most pins are for “Cable Select” I would try setting the other drive to “Slave” by selecting the middle set of pins.

Master is the left hand set of pins when facing the back of the drive. Right is cable select…