Am i really that stupid

vbimport

please help i am new to everything. i have two years worth of camcorder tapes to copy to dvd. i have a sony dcr-hc30e dv camcorder and a panasonic dmr es10. i have tried everything i know and everthing i dont but nothing works. i am trying to copy the tapes to dvd. i have tried usind dvd-ram which i have mastered but none of my family have panasonic dvd players so they cant play the dvds. i have tried using dvd-rw but it is not possible to edit after it has been copied to the dvd. the problem is that i have over 200 hours of recording so i cant sit through it all and stop and start to edit it. i have tried using windows movie maker with the comcorder but it is not possible to display the date and time on the finished product. the tapes are of my daughter and i do not want to forget in twenty years what date the recordings are from.

can anyone tell me is it possible to edit the disc once all recording is on it before finalisation. according to the instruction book editing is only avail with dvd-ram discs. if i was to buy another dvd recorder is it possible to edit the recording. i basically want to cut out a few minutes here and there where i have left the camcorder on whilst walking around the house. what i do not want to do is go out and spend more money to have the same problem with another dvd recorder. is it possible to record from camcorder to pc using another program other than windows movie maker which will display the date and time on the recording. most people do not want this on but i do.

sorry if i sound stupid, i probably am