Am I doing it correctly?

vbimport

Hello, i’m a long time reader, first time poster. I’ve just got a new comp with a new burner so this is my first time attempting to backup (with the new protections anyway).

After much reading, I think I know what i’m doing, i’ve attempted to backup a copy of Warcraft 3, it appears to work fine. I’ve tried installing/playing it on this burner (which is a Liteon 52x32x52), a DVD rom and an older Diamond Data burner which has been really worn through. All of them installed and played it besides the older Diamond Data burner which failed to run it.

The method I used was the following:

1. Made an image (CCD) using Alcohol v1.4.8 Build 1222, with ‘Skip Reading Errors’ and 'Read Sub-Channel Data enabled. Everything went through flawlessly, except with one read error near the end but I was told this was normal for Securom 4.8>.

2. I then made another image in .mds format using Alcohol (same version) with Data Position Measurement set to High, I did cancel it after I got the DPM info as I was told this was all I needed.

3. I then used BWA builder to convert the .mds file to .bwa.

4. I then used Twinpeak v0.2 to patch the CCD image with the .BWA file. I left everything on default, ie. twin sector step 15, 710MB.

5. Finally I used Alcohol (same version) to burn the CCD.

Is there anything I could have done (or could do) better or different? I want to be able to play the backup without any emulation. What does the twin sector step do exactly? I vaguely heard that the higher it is the faster it validates etc? Is this true and does setting it higher have a downside?