Advice on what to do

I am very new to all of this so go easy on me…

I am going to put all my DVD’s onto my multimedia PC that I built. I have around 2TB’s of hard drive space.

I have been playing around with various ripping and conversion software. I tried ripping a DVD to a .ISO file and use the Elby VirtualDrive software but ran into some problems with the software locking up and corrupting my DVD drive drivers so I am probably going to avoid that rought. I tried using WinAVI to convert the .VOB files to MPEG or AVI but noticed that it just converted the files seperately and did not pack them into one file.

My first question is what software would you guys recommend for either:
A. ripping a DVD to a single file (such as AVI or MPEG) or
B. ripping a DVD to multiple files (like most software seems to do, i.e. a VIDEO_TS folder with several .vob, .ifo, .bup files) and then converting/compressing all those into a single (AVI, MPEG, whatever) format.

My second question is which format is best for maintaining Video and Audio quality, audio channels, and possibly the surround sound encoding?

Thanks!

The best quality is obtained ripping DVD in the same way they are in the disc, aka a bunch of ifo bup and vob files.

With avi you can obtain a rather good (but not the best) quality, and you can also retain surround audio, but the best remain the DVD format.

One of the best rippers is DVD Decrypter, but being not updated anymore more and more of the latest movies can’t be ripped with it. Good alternative are DVDFab decrypter or Anydvd.

Just to add to geno’s advice.

DVD Shrink (free) or CloneDVD ($$) are the other possiblility , along with AnyDVD - to remove protection.

BTW when you get an avi file & an audio file from Winavi you can easily merge these together with Virtualdubmod. Just ensure that the video mode is set to Direct Stream Copy.