Advice: External Blueray Writer

vbimport

hello there,

i am looking for an external blueray burner and need your advice. though its main purpose will be archiving my cd and dvd collection, i also would like to be able to watch bluerays with it. i have no experience with blueray drives so far and i wonder if there exists a drive that combines all of these disciplines?

the most important thing to me is its dae features. ideally it should have:

accurate stream: yes
caching: no
c2 errors: yes
httoa: yes
overread into lead in and out: both
burn offset corrected

any recommendations are highly appreciated

Welcome to the forum. It’s always good to see new members. :flower:

I don’t think you will find any drives now which support overreading, especially not a Blu-Ray drive. The last drives I know of which supported that were the Sanyo-based Plextors, which were discontinued years ago.

You can try searching the daefeatures.co.uk database, but I seriously doubt the accuracy of the overread information for most of the non-Plextor drives.

It sounds like you wish to make ‘perfect’ copies of audio CDs. Don’t worry too much about that.

Knowing the correct read-offset is vital for Accurate & comparing the CRC. But the samples at the start & end of virtually every commercial CD ever made are silence (zeros), which most secure extraction software can fill in automatically. Also consider this, the largest offset you are likely to see these days is +667 samples which at 44,100KHz is only 0.0151 seconds of audio!