A07 and Booktype Question

Hi there,
I’ve been perusing the forums, but haven’t found the answer to this question. If the Pioneer A07 won’t support bitsetting, can Nero’s software override that?

Background: I’ve been making DVD backups using DVD Decrypter, Shrink and Nero 6.3. I had read that changing the booktype to DVD-ROM will help with old DVD set-top players. I ripped my Dangerous Minds DVD, which didn’t need shrinking, so was able to go directly into Nero to burn the DVD-R. While in the advanced options of Nero, you can choose the Booktype setting for DVD-ROM, which I did. The DVD-R would work in my newer Panasonic player but not my old Proscan.

I’m really new at this - bitsetting and booktype are the same thing, right? Or at least similar? Thanks in advance for your help.

:confused:

I don’t think that there are plans for a booktype setting feature for the DVR-107 by anybody. Most older players can play DVD-R. Look for your model here. Maybe some of the other formats work mentioned there. You didn’t specify your model type for Proscan.

http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdplayers.php?DVDname=proscan&Search=Search&orderby=Name

Some background on bitsetting:
Works for DVD+R only, is not supported in the DVD-R specs.
Is a hardware operation, cannot be forced by software. Requires supporting hardware and firmware and software.

Originally posted by rdgrimes
Some background on bitsetting:
Works for DVD+R only, is not supported in the DVD-R specs.
Is a hardware operation, cannot be forced by software. Requires supporting hardware and firmware and software.

If you care to know.

The NU DDW-082 is able to set DVD-R discs to DVD-ROM. I don’t think it’s needed though - but it could do it.

How can that be? The DVD-R booktype information is pre-recorded in the physical DVD-R disc???