A Question for other Canadians

vbimport

What kind of prices are you guys finding for DVD-R media and where are you finding it? The best I can do here (Regina, SK) is $50 for 50 discs from BestBuy. Are you finding anything better? I’m on the lookout for discs made in JAPAN…Preferably Maxell or Fuji…Should I hold out for a sale at Bestbuy, or is $50 about as low as it goes?
Sorry. I know these are Newbie questions, but I’m just getting into things.
Thanks

I’m a newbie myself - just bought and installed my BenQ 1620 yesterday. Check this website: www.ncix.com. I bought a 50 pk Ritek DVD-R 8X for $32.90. It’s kind of funny but their 4X is actually more expensive. They ship anywhere in Canada and USA.

Burnt 4 movies so far - no coasters yet!

I get my stuff at www.blankmedia.ca, and $1/pc is what I pay for high end media.

I forgot to mention a couple of other things about www.ncix.com:

• the sales guy told me they may be having a sale next week on the Riteks.
  • they don’t post their sale prices on their main pages - you have to display the weekly specials page (very annoying).

ya thats the best place i have found. the give you media codes and will let you try samples also, plus they have a good selection of dvd cases as well.

futureshop.ca benq 4x 200 packs are still on sale for like 60 bux I think? The discs are not too bad, but blankmedia.ca does seem to be the best for getting good prices all the time

Yeah, I saw the Benqs on sale, but I’ve heard some dubious stuff about their quality…I guess even if 50% turned out to be coasters, it would still be a good price at 200 for $60, but I’d rather not mess around with bad media…

I did, however, check out blankmedia.ca, and I’m happy to say that I just bought 50 Taiyo Yuden’s for $52 including tax and shipping…Thanks for the tip! They kick ass!