A few questions about DVD Lifespan

vbimport

I’ve read about the many types of dyes DVDs use and how Ritek and Verbatim use some of the best dye out there for better lifespan, performance, and reliability. I have some DVDs that were burned back during 2001 (Various DVDs with music & anime) at this time however, I was a newbie and didn’t know much of the better brands. I apologize for the long post…

I would occasionally use TDK/HP/Maxell DVD+R, I’m wondering if anyone that has burned with these brands has had any problems?

I’ve read that a normal good brand DVDs can last up to 80 years. But then I hear people talking about how their CD-Rs are dying slowly, ones they burned around '97. Is this true? Or could it be these people used cheaper quality (no name) discs?

I’ve burned a few DVDs, and well I usually burn at lets say perhaps 8x (usually I burn at 4x though) can a folder filled with .rar files get corrupted all of a sudden? Or could it have been corrupted before I had even burned the files? I ask this because, since I usually like to archive things, but sometimes… rarely… some files are (or get) corrupted and won’t read at all, then again I don’t remember if perhaps they were corrupted BEFORE I burned the DVD. :doh:

Until recently, I used to use CDStomper to put labels on my discs, luckily they are in top shape and don’t really peel off if you dont try to keep pulling on the edges.

Does a label on top of a cd really make a laser work harder?

I was wondering if any of these are good choices? I’m noticing Verbatim DataLifePlus and normal Verbatim are they basically the same? Newegg Verbatim Page

Ive read mixed reports that Sharpies are bad while others say they aren’t, can they affect read speeds/performance AT ALL?

Thanks guys, and sorry for the real pathetic questions, I want to hear other peoples point of view since I’ve read that Sharpies can mess up a DVD, and then the whole .RAR files corrupting made me get very paranoid.