A couple dumb questions!?

I’m a week old newbie to this DVD burning stuff so excuse my stupidity if this question is dumb.

I have two DVD players installed - one is an older DVD ROM - the other a new Sony DRU-510A burner. I tried to copy one of my DVD discs using Shrink. When I put the DVD into the new Sony it came up with a message that it wouldn’t read as it was copy protected - when I took it out and inserted it into the older ROM drive it read it perfectly. Once read it burned fine.

Question: Does this mean that older drives lack the ability to recognize ‘newer’ copy protect methods - and if so - would it be good to have one of installed in order to make doing your backups easier? Or is there another explanation for this?

Question two: In reading up on the DVD copy/author/burn process I noticed a plethora of options re: software and methods. Some methods seem pretty elaborate - such as using DVD Decryptor - TMPENC - even reauthoring using prog’s such as Maestro. Yet there are ‘quick&easy’ - like ‘Shrink’ out there. Are some of these options ‘older’ approaches reflecting the state of things a few years ago - or are they still viable choices.

For example - does programs such as ‘Shrink’ achieve the same result (but much easier) than many of these longer (numerous steps & combined prog’s) solutions - or is it a matter of quality. I’m confused as to why people would bother with these elaborate ‘solutions’ - such as TMPEnc or Maestro etc. when there are programs such as Shrink out there?

Sorry if it’s a dumb question - but what appears obvious to the experience is rarely so to the newbie - but I’m ‘learning’ fast
:bigsmile:

Thanks

Gadfly

for ur first question, can the sony rip the dvd when using dvd decrypter?