812S DVD+ Issues- Book Type Question

vbimport

First I would like to say any suggestions made are sincerely appreciated, forgive the lengthy post but I want to give as many details as possible to troubleshoot.
I have limited knowledge with this DVD burning so bear with me please.

My burner is a Liteon 812S that had USOJ firmware on it. I had burned numerous backup movie DVD’s with some Ritek DVD+ (Ricoh JNPR01-02h) that I thought were good. I have tried them on 4 stand alone players, as well as the PC, and they all worked fine.

Now the major problem, my main DVD player hooked up to my big screen TV doesn’t like how the disks were burned using DVD+ media. Although it’s capable of DVD+, DVD-, and DVD R/W, It skips and sometimes freezes when the movie reaches about 85%. If I use a DVD+ R/W it has no problems. If I use a DVD-, it has no problems. It’s not the media because it plays in all other players.
This DVD player is 1 month old and has a feature I love, it‘s able to convert the DVD signal to 720P or 1080i either through component cables or DVI cable. The picture is absolutely stunning when it works for the 85%, and I’m so pissed at myself that I did not check these disks thoroughly on this player from the start.

Tried an experiment and it seemed to work even though I had no clue what I was doing. I downloaded the Liteon change book type utility and changed the DVD+ to DVD-Rom.
I then burned two DVD’s (same media) and they played fine on the player. I’m not sure if this utility does this for all disks I put in that are DVD+, or do I have to enable the program each time for each new disk? I did enable it for both disks on my experiment.

I have since installed the Omni Patcher and installed firmware USON (like to avoid USOQ at this time).