812 and Bitsetting?

I am new to DVD burning and I just received my Liteon 812 yesetrday. I tried to use the bitsetting utility to set +RW disc to dvd-rom but it would not change. Does anyone know if the 812 supports bitsetting?
Also I have tried three burns on 4x RW discs using Nero and all three burns have taken 35 minutes. That seems awfully slow. The discs are Richoh Japan. Thanks for any help you can give.

It appears that the bitsetting ability is not complete in the current firmware. May be a bug or not fully implemented.

Myself, I don’t know if the 812S supports bit setting yet. I would think it might evuntually. It took awhile for the 4x1/8x1 series to get it. Try emailing LiteOn and asking them perhaps.

Regarding the media.
Have you tried downloading and installing SmartBurn yet? (the link is in the tools guide in my signature)
It will tell you the maximum burn speed of the media you are using. Perhaps it’s only rated 2x? RW?

List the media code. Download DVDInfoPro for that (again link in Kprobe area of guide).

Here is the Media infor from dvdinfopro

Media Information                            

Disc Regions are 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8
Media code/Manufacturer ID RICOHJPNW11
Format Capacity 4.38GB(4.70GB)
Book Type DVD+RW
Media Type DVD+RW
Media Id Code Speed 4.0x 5540KBps
Available Write Descriptor CLV 4.0x 5540KBps
Available Write Descriptor CLV 2.4x 3324KBps
BG Format Status Completed
Data area starting sector 30000h
Data area end sector 23053Fh
Linear Density 0.267um/bit
Track Density 0.74um/track
Number of Layers 1

And this is what SmartBurn says

Drive Type = DVD DUAL 
     Disc Type = DVD+RW (Single Layer)
      Disc MID = 52 49 43 4F 48 4A 50 4E (RICOHJPN)
      Disc TID = 57 31 31 (W11)

Nominal Capacity = 4.38GB
Manufacturer Maybe = Ricoh Company Limited
SMART-BURN Speed Limit = 4.0X (Write)

This may sound silly but you are selecting 4x or Max before burning right?

Is DMA enabled?