812@832 - LiteOn Bitsetting-Tool doesn't work

vbimport

Hi,

I’m a complete Newby regarding burning DVDs and I didn’t find any other users with this problem so far:

In My System there is a Plextor PX-W4824A CD-Writer and since today a Sony DW-U18A which I have crossflashed to 832 with the CG5G-Firmware.
Now, the LiteOn Tool Booktype V. 1.3.5 comes up with the error-message:
Unsupported Drive Detectet!
Drive Detectet but is not supported by this program!

And also the LiteOn Tool SmartBurn V. 3110 doesn’t show any drives.

in Nero I can adjust the Booktype only if I use the CG5G-SonyID-Firmware!

BTW, ASPI-Layer 4.71.2 is Installed.

Edit:
Just thought, some more information would be good :wink:
MoBo: Asus A7N8X-E Dlx

Just installed Kprobe.
It displays the drive-Names only with spi-driver.
With ASPI it says only 2-0-0-0, 2-0-1-0 and 5-0-0-0 (the bus-IDs I think)

Ciao,
Gang

uninstall the nvidia ide drivers :wink:
also aspi v4.60 would be better, get it here: http://rapidshare.de/files/3117643/Adaptec_ASPI_v4.60-s3m.rar.html

Thx,

that fixed the problem.

I changed to the NVidia-IDE-Drivers, as it was said, the from V. 2.5 on, they are (finally) bug-free…
Seems to be a wrong information…

Ciao,
Gang

I’ve been using nVidia’s drivers for as long as I’ve had my motherboard and Smartburn (and the booktype tool) used to work. At some point, the nVidia driver “broke” these functions but I don’t know when.

Any suggestions as to a “good” nVidia version that works ?? I’m hesitant to roll all the way back to XP’s built-in drivers… But if I have to, I might.

Thanks

Alternatively, you could use DVD Decrypter’s bitsetting function–that seems to be able to work even when the LiteOn tools fail.