811s Kprobe2 "read speed" problem

First, you guys are great!!! But I need help, I’m a newb. Hopfully, this hasn’t been covered yet.

I’m using the recommended write strategy (with omnipatcher) for my standard liteon 811s (pacific digital from Staples), with HS0Q, RICOHJPNR01 media, burn with decrypter and the results seems to be great. BUT when I read the disk with different “read speeds” (not burn speed) in kprobe2, I get vastly different results.

It’s not the usual “best to worse” senerio such as; 1x speed = best results, 4x read = standard, 8x = worse, max= bad. What im getting is, 1x is AWESOME, 4x = HORRIBLE, 8x = ok, max = ok.

I dont understand why I get horrible results with 4x read speed, and not 1x, 8x, or max read speeds.

Can my liteon 811s read only at 1x and 8x, but not at 4x? Does this kprobe “read speed” issue mean that I will have issues playing in other dvd players (They still work in my current player)?

Basically, can I start rapidly “making backups” of dvds without fear?

Any suggestions?

thanks!
chris

btw, I store the dvd files on a file server and push the files via LAN to my dvd player. Not sure if this would cause any issues.

Here are my results:

1x read speed:
http://forum.cdfreaks.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=11230&stc=1
4x read speed:
http://forum.cdfreaks.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=11231&stc=1
8x read speed:
http://forum.cdfreaks.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=11232&stc=1
max read speed:
http://forum.cdfreaks.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=11233&stc=1

Same questions has been raised in your post yesterday :confused:

The “standard” KProbe scanningspeed on this forum is 4x, and the acceptable error rates are 280/4 with the version of KProbe you use.
Single spikes can be ignored. :wink:

BTW, regarding your first post, have you done any “write strategy” changes for your RICOH_R01 media.

I assume you wanted to say the burner gets the source files from a file server :slight_smile: