811S Good? (manufactured Jan 2004)

Hey all, newbie here, but not in tech stuff, just this group, glad I found it.

Anyway, my dvd replaced my CDR (A sony which died a week or so ago), needed a cd rom, so I figured a DVD burner would be ok.

I got the lite on 811S which writes 8x +R with no problems, in fact it writes +4 at +8 speeds (not sure how it does that…)…

Also, made copies of my movies with no problems using Shrink, then NERO, all movies play fine in my fairly NEW standalone DVD player.

So, being on of those people who usally researches first, is the 811 a good model? It seems to be fine for me, and I noticed that there is a newer version that offers + or - 8X, so the only differenece between mine is it writes only +8 not -8.

Only one or two coasters so far (my error), and the warranty is one year…

Opinions greatly appreciated, also any other drives in that price range too ($150)…

Lastly, for what it’s worth, I’m spoiled already…4.7 is a lot, but I could see how having a 9.xx gig drive would be better…

So, back to my original question, did I do ok getting this drive?
thanks

Depends on who you ask.

Some hates this drive and some loves it.

I’m in between - it have its strong sides and weak sides.

Strong:
Fast and good reader
Fast and good CD-Writer
Good writing quality with most quality DVD media

Weaknesses:
Low writing quality with some cheap DVD media.

That’s the main points - or read my review available from our frontpage for an in-depth view.

Thanks, I did read the review by the way, very in depth.

I’m also trying to figure out the difference between the 811S and the 851S, they seem to have the same specs, so it must be a small change that I can’t find.

Any clue?

Regarding media, I have purchased only name brank so fat, TDK, Memorex, etc, and haven’t had any problems, even a friends immation +4 burned at +8 with no problems.