80 wire ide cable? Nforce 2 chipset? (DRW 1008IM)

vbimport

First of all, this is not a complaint. Although I have only had my DRW 1008IM for around a week, my (limited) tests so far have all gone well.

My questions:

[ul][li] Since installing the 1008 drive I get a new message in my Windows (XP, Home Edition) post screen that there is no 80 wire ide cable installed on the secondary ide channel. Is this cause for concern? Could I expect improved performance with an 80 wire cable? And does it matter which connector I use for the master and slave device with the 40 wire cable?
[/li]
[li] …and what about my Nforce 2 chipset? Is the 1008 considered fully compatible?
[/li][/ul]

Thx for any comments…

I get the same message - I have the drive as secondary slave with a 52x Liteon cd writer as master. I have been using the drive for 4 months with NO problems at all.

The drive is a UDMA33 device and does NOT need an 80 wire cable.

I believe it does not matter with 40 wire cables which connector is master or slave.

Some people allege that proprietary Nvidia chipset DRIVERS can cause problems and you should rather use the Microsoft ones that come with windows.(If you are using Windows).

But the chipset itself is not the problem.

Thanks for putting my mind at rest regarding ide cables. (I had read something [a link on this site that I can’t seem to find again] saying that the master should be on the middle connector, but set to slave?! Perhaps I read it wrong?) My drive, too, is the secondary slave, master being a Teac CD-W552EK. Since it works, I expect you are right.

As for the chipset drivers, I do have the proprietary Nvidia drivers, but have so far noticed no problems. Until I do, I suppose I will leave it as is.