716A - about to throw out - HELP!

I am a wedding photographer and produce DVD slideshows using Adobe Premiere to showcase the couples images from thier wedding. I bought a Plextor 716A a while back with the rationale that they had a good reputation and so I would rather pay more and be safe.

Since then I have had no end of compatibility problems with set top DVD players.

So, I came here a while back and found out Verbatum was better than the media I was using. I bought some DVD-R’s and sure enough for about 4 or 5 months everything seems fine and I had no more complaints from couples about the DVD not working in thier player.

Then last month NONE of my delivered DVDs were working on clients DVD players, but working fine on my computer using WinDVD or on my test DVD players on TV’s… grrr.

So came back here and read that TY’s were the same or better, so I got some TY’s and burned them and they seemd to play in all the test players (including the clients that had problems) I use. So, I went to check them in my computer and they wont play… grrr (using WinDVD). Basically, the player hangs trying to access the DVD, and eventually either gives up or plays a show that is very skippy and stalls frequently.

So, I tried to test them with CD-DVD Speed (Nero 6.x included) and the quality test button is disabled. grrr…

So, I downloaded KProbe and tried it, and no joy…

So, I down loaded Plextools Pro XL and it won’t run - I get the trial notice and then it exits. grrr…

I downloaded DVDInfoPro and it won’t run the tests…grrr…

I am about to throw this stupid drive out the window and buy a BenQ, but I can’t find one locally and I need it fast - I have weddings backing up and I need to get these produced.

My system is a home brew P4 3.2, 1TB SATA Drives internal, 2GB Ram, WinXP Pro all updates, Plextor PX-716A with latest (1.08?) firmware.