710A Sony - region setting

vbimport

I want to set the region code for my Sony 710A drive, so that it can play all regions. Is that possible to set it at drive level? which tool I have to use to set the regions?

Pls let know how to make my Sony 710A to play all region DVDs.

Thanks

the sony 710A drive is based on the liteon 1633 drive

1. so you can use the LtnRPC tool to reset the rpc region and count or even make the drive as rpc1 code which is zone free, you can find it in the liteon forum http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=109986 or in rpc1.org http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=1917
  2. or you can use DVD43 software from www.dvd43.com

Thanks for the info, my concern is will the region free setting at drive level is advisable or at software level (like using dvd43) is advisable?

As I am new to ripping & this dvd flashing, I would like to get suggestions before I proceed.

I am afraid in using the patches at drive level for my Sony 710A to make it region free… it shows as RPC II & currently (default) set to region 1. But I wish the drive should play all region dvd’s…

Pls suggest the best & safe option go with…

Thanks again

Dvd43 doesn’t do anything to the drive at all, so it’s very safe - and if DVD43 doesn’t work for you, there are other tools you can buy that do the same thing, and have a wider acceptance.

If you set the drive to RPC1, that is not a complete answer, as software region control takes over unless:

1. You use software which can be forced into making uncounted region changes using DVD Genie
  2. You use “DVD Regionkiller” - formerly from Elaborate Bytes, archived at most good DVD meddling sites - which emulates an RPC2 drive.

The basic difference between Regionkiller, and tools like DVD43 or AnyDVD, is that Regionkiller requires the drive to be RPC1, while the other tools, I don’t understand HOW, can override the region on an RPC2 drive.

as Matth said