708A revs up and ruins burns

vbimport

I have been using my 708A burner for almost four months without any problems. Until a week ago, that is. As I burn a DVD with Nero 6, everything goes OK and then all of a sudden the drive revs up and becomes EXTREMELY loud. As this revving up occurs, burning ceases (even though Nero still shows that the project’s still in process).

Like I said, I’ve had the burner for four months and successfully burned almost 300 DVDs. In the past week, I have created almost 10 unusable discs.

I don’t think it could be the media, because I always use the Ritek Ridata brand.

Any suggestions on what may be going on?

Thanks.

I don’t think it could be the media, because I always use the Ritek Ridata brand.

In the last few months RITEK quality has been crappy. There quality control is not the greatest. I would suggest you try to use another brand of media like TAIYO YUDEN(FUJI DVD-R), MAXELL DVD-R, TDK DVD-R (TTG01) @ IMATION DVD+R(RICOH). Those are the RECOMMENDED BRANDS that PLEXTOR supports. RITEK is listed as COMPATIBLE. Although it’s listed as compatible does not mean they will work well with the drive.

At the end of the burn process, when writing the lead-out, the drive will spin-up. This is normal.

It’s not the lead out. This “revving up” happens at any point during the burn: start, middle or near completion.

When it does happen, recording stops from that point on (you can tell by looking at the underside of the disc just how much got recorded and how the rest from the “speed up point” is still blank).

What’s odd is that Nero still shows the recording process is going on.

This just started last week and I haven’t had a successful burn at 4X. Burning at 2X, however, worked up until yesterday when it too made two or three coasters.

I had a drive that started to do that. RMA’d it.