5163 probs

hey guys. i am new to all this so sorry if im sounding stupid, but i jus bought a 5163D external, and ive already had quite a few problems with it and i was wondering if you guys could alleviate some of them. i have already upgraded the firmware to a105, reformatted my computer, and installed all the software necesseties (nero 7.0.1.4, alcohol, dvdshrink, dvd decryptor, etc). this solved my original probs of backing up my mp3s and movies to +DL discs. what ive been trying to accomplish now is backup my original dvd movies and ps2 discs. i can rip the images to my hard drive all nice and fine, but when i go to burn them again … all hell breaks loose and i get coasters. now i know one problem is the media im using (memorex: 16x -R, cmcmag.am3), but i figured id have at least some working results. i get to a different percentage each time then the drive stops burning and just hangs there til i reboot. im recording at 4x times, which is the only option i can ever burn with (another problem, cuz id prefer to always write at 1x). nero cd dvd speed tool says it can be written at 4x tho … i dunno. im ordering some good media soon, and im hoping that will fix things … i was hoping you guys would see my case here and give me some insight that im over looking. thanks again.

1. Better media is the key.
  2. Burning at 1x. For what? Console backups only at 1x - only a myth.

thats wat would really cause a nearly 0% successful burning rate? i jus thought that id get at least some success…

and i only say “nearly” cuz i havent gone thru the whole spindle yet, but all so far have been coasters.

You have managed to find the one kind of media which you absolutely should NOT use on a 5163D because :

1. No version of firmware for this drive supports CMC MAG AM3 at all. The drive is burning with its default write strategy which will only burn at a max of 4x.

2. The discs are of poor quality themselves.