411s to 811s problems then success

vbimport

I’m no expert, but this is what worked for me.

I had used zebras original conversion, worked great, though I would try the latest version 4 mod. I made a new eeprom with the patcher tool from original eeprom. Flashed with the flash tool. Then flashed with hs0k. Drive orange, flashed back with 411s firmware, tried again and drive flashed orange, This time, drive would not flash anymore just blinked orange and wouldn’t take a flash.

Tried mtkflash in dos. with 411s firmware, drive light went out, no longer recognized by cmos, Drive was lost, misery.
Apparently mtkflash 4 without the /m parameter erases the drive and only writes the last bank with the recommended flash method.

Did some more reading, looked at drives on sale.

Now the solution

Get 401 firware, esog.bin
boot to dos
do this
I had the drive as secondary slave

mtkflash 4 w /m esog.bin

Drive recognized again, but as a 401 drive

opened up liteon flash tool. flashed with zebra’s patched eeprom that I made from my original eeprom with the patcher.

Then I flashed with zebras modified hs0k firmware that he released with the original patch, worked.

Then patched with firmware hsok.exe that was flashfixed. The latest hs0k firmware that I downloaded from liteon, must be messed up, because it was a little smaller than the one I had downladed when it first was released. Plus, it didn’t show the drive just 00 00 1 or something liked that but no id. I flashfixed the firmware that I already had, that was a little bigger in size and it saw my drive. flashed it, worked.

I then tried flashing the drive with a hsok.exe that was not flashfixed, and it worked.

I then used the liteon flasher to flash it with the hsop firmware. Exe file not available yet. Working good so far. Currently running at 811s with hs0p firmware. I though I was going to have to buy a new drive for a while.