411s - Nero problems and few other questions

Hi,

I’m a newbie here but I’ve spent many hours reading the forum and testing my drive and I have a few questions.

1. Nero 6.0.0.28 seems to fail my burns, more on that after the other questions.

2. Nero CD-DVD Speed 2.11 recognizes my burnt DVDs as ‘Data CD’ so the graph that it produces is pretty much useless:

3. I’ve tested some of my burnt disks with KProbe and though the results are OK they are far behind the ones that OC-Freak got in his review. Is there any particular reason for this?

My specs:
Windows XP with SP1 and all the hotfixes. ASPI v4.71 is istalled.

IDE1:
Master - hard drive
Slave - hard drive
IDE2:
Master - LiteOn LDW-411s FS0F with DMA on
Slave - LiteOn LTD163 DVD-ROM

1. Nero 6.0.0.28 seems to fail my burns

So far I’ve burnt 4 DVD+Rs and 2 DVD+RWs. The first three I did with Nero 6.0.0.28 with some 4481MB of data.

Try number 1 - the DVD+RW that came with the drive with 4x speed:
Burn OK - Verify OK

Try number 2 - the same data to the DVD+R that came with the drive, 4x speed:
Burn OK - Verify fails

Try number 3 - again the same data to a Verbatim DataLifePlus DVD+R 4x (Taiyo Yuden):
Burn OK - Verify fails again

Hmm… the first one might have been just bad luck or something but now two burns have failed. You’d think that everything would work out fine with the disc that came with the drive or at least with the incredibly expensive Taiyo Yuden disc. Guess not.

After this I remembered hearing something about Nero and DVD burner problems so I decided to try out the program that came with the drive itself (Sonic RecordNow DX). I don’t like the interface one bit but I decided to give it a go.

Try number 4 - Samsung Digitall DVD+RW (CMC Magnetics Corporation), 2.4x
Burn OK - Verify OK

Try number 5 - the same set of discs as with try number 3
Burn OK - Verify OK

Try number 6 - the same set of discs as with try number 3&5, new set of data
Burn OK - Verify OK