411S@811S: DVD+R/RW and BookType

I’ve been trying to burn unsuccesfully movies on my DVD+R. I’ve produced 12 coasters (very expensive) that can’t be played on my Pioneer DVD player. Upon stumbling at Lite-On website and downloaded the BookType utility, I set the BookType to DVD-ROM first before proceeding to use Nero to burn the movies on the disc. No problems and my DVD player could read them. Why?

Strange thing is that in Nero, the BookType DVD-ROM was checked even before I used the Lite-On utility and it seemed that it didn’t work.

Can anyone shed some light to me on both situations? I’m new to burning DVD movies. Thanks in advance.

probably they are not coasters and will play fine in many other players

because your player is in some way not compatible with +r media. some drives do it because they only conform to dvd-r specs. some drives do it to make it harder to play recorded discs. here is a place that you can confirm your players abilities

from the changelog to 6.3.1.15: Implementation of DVD-R/-RW booktype changing for several drives…

i guess liteon is not one of the several drives.

cnlson,

Thanks for taking the time to explain. The 12+ coasters also didn’t work with my notebook PC’s DVD-ROM drive. But I believe you’re right in saying that they would probably work in other players that has the +R standard.

cnlson,
I visited and performed a search on my DVD player (Pioneer DVD-355) and it seems that it accepts DVD+R/RW as well. So, what gives now?

:S

The booktype option in Nero doesn’t work with LiteOn drives, hence why it didn’t work.

Could very well be a media problem. What media are you using?
What firmware are you using?

Ssseth,

Thanks for the quick reply.

I’m using the 811S HS0Q Firmware (original).

Using Lite-On’s SmartBurn Media Check Utility, here is the result of the +R media I was using:

Drive Type = DVD DUAL 
     Disc Type = DVD+R (Single Layer)
      Disc MID = 4F 50 54 4F 44 49 53 43 (OPTODISC)
      Disc TID = 4F 52 34 (OR4)