40125s->48

vbimport

Hi to you all!

I'm very new to this oc thing with burners.
I have just recieved my new 40125s burner and my question is as followes.
I would like to oc it to a 48 but can i flash it with VS02 firmware right away ore must i flash it with some other firmware first?

Thank you for a great forum.Reading this made me go from plextor to LiteOn.

I'm so sorry for my bad english!

Thank's in advance

Why do you want to overclock?

You only save 20 seconds if you burn a full cd!

I have done overclocking my drive, too.

Why not:

1. You will lose your warranty!
  2. Your drive will not work as long as in standard (40x)!
  3. You will have some errors when you burn, if you dont have the right cdr-media!

In my opinion it’s not worth overclocking!

Now to your question:

All you need is a bootable floppy in pure dos, the tool mtkflash and the VS02.BIN for o/c.

Madison :

1. You will lose your warranty!

But then again, it’s not virginity :bigsmile: he can easily find it ( warranty, that is ) simply by making a step backward. And nobody will ever notice anything ! Unlike the other case :bigsmile:

While we are on the subject, I know this may have been discussed already, but which firmware that changes 40125s -> 40125w? It seems all the threads are about OC’ing to 48x…

If you havn’t upgraded your 5S (still original firmware) the thing that will differ if you upgrade to a 5W is that it will have P-CAV and Mt Rainier. But there is official firmware for the 5S that does just that, so there is really no need to up a 5S to 5W. :slight_smile:

So by upgrading with firmware ZS0J, I can get the P-CAV and Mt. Rainier, and it will stay at 40125S, and not changing to 40125W?

I read a thread where someone had some problems with media compatibility using the ZS0J firmware…

Does ZS0A (I know it’s an older firmware) offer P-CAV or Mt. Rainier or is it better for media compatibility?