4 or more Burners on 1 Machine: USB, SATA, PATA or IDE

How did you do it?

Do you have sucesss using them all at once?

I have a pretty fast system so I’m sure I could serve up the data quick enough for the DVDs, but the question is USB, SATA, PATA, Firewire or IDE or extra PCI controller card? Which would have the best chance of them all working happily together. Usually people say stay away from SATA for CD and DVD drives.

I am a photographer and on 3 or more days a week I sit at my computer and burn the days DVD’s. I would like to set up multiple burners so I can use a function I’ve seen written into my software that allows you to burn them all at once! Say 4 burners or more on one computer! :bigsmile:

Thanks,
Domo

I would think externals would most liklly get you into trouble trying that. I have heard of people doing it with 4 drives though I have not done more than 2 at a time myself. I see in your sig that you are running raptors in raid 0 so that should help with supplying data to the drives fast enough. Normal ide should work just fine though you may have to play with how they are setup a little. Are your raptors sata or pata (ie how many ide spots do you have open on your motherboard)? Burning at 16x takes about 22MBps if I am not mistaken so 4 drives might need data faster than a single raid array could provide but if you use diffrent source drives that might help (your sig doesn’t tell if you have a 4 drive raid or 2 2 drive arrays). What you are thinking of doing is pheasable though if you get it setup right.

I did it by throwing all my HDD’s onto SATA and I have 4 PATA available this way. I also occasionally use for scanning DVD’s external USB setups. I can potentially use FireWire if need be but have not yet.