4.2.0.2 -> 4.3.1.7 Why?

Having just come back from a couple of weeks away, I notice that there is a new release of CloneCD around. The changeLog says that it now emulates the SD2.9 weak sectors. I’m not that happy about using emulation techniques, preferring as I do to get a copy that authenticaes with out emulation. I know my burner [LTR-40125S] will write the SD2.9 patterns correctly as a burn with FireBurner from a CloneCD 4.2.0.2 image authenticates fine.

Does the new version mean that I can use CloneCD now to write a SD2.9 image correctly without the need for FireBurner?

I’ve been using CloneCD for many years and expect that my key will be outside the free upgrade time period, so I’m not looking to upgrade unless there is a good reason. Is there anything else new that would make me want to part with my hard earned cash?

i’m in the same dilemma as you. I cannot make a working backup with my liteon 165h reading and my 40125s writing.

I too own the old version (elby) and am in the process of chosing a new program… so far blindwrite works great and i backed up sim’s makin magic with it. clonecd failed…

i’ll just have to wait until the softwares develop and then chose.

Three points and questions:

I personally believe DJ is best against SD and have asked twice already with no reply, perhaps nobody knows “if the new CCD writes the pregap correctly”?

Also I too do not completely understand what is meant by emulates SD2.9 weak sectors. What if written with emulation mode off, is that to say a backed up CD won’t work?

CCD + Fireburner worked on all my SD versions so far, so has DJ.

Also, does anyone know if CCD+twinpeaks is superior to BW against newest versions of Securom?

Hello xtacydima …I’ve just purchased DJ what setting do you use
for SD.
Thanks,

Ivanhoe…

The TRUTH is a LIE waiting to be told.