20x LG dvd Burner running at less than 1x

Hi, before i get to the question i should point out yes i am a newbie so please be patient with my dumb questions thanks

So i purchased a LG DVD burner from the local Chinese computer shop last Christmas and i don’t know much about installing, but i assumed it was simple, everyone said just to remove the CD rom drive and plug the cables into the DVD and mount it. It worked fine up until recently, i have been using Nero /DVD shrink to burn DVD’s and its takes 2- 3 hrs just to buffer it or analyze, then when the actual burning takes place its another 1 to 2 and a half hours to finish the job, and when it used to do the whole thing in under half an hour you can see why i need help, the only label i can find on the drive is in device manager and it says HL-DT-ST DVD RAM GH22NP20
Ive tried uninstalling it and considering a system restore but i thought id try here. Any help would be appreciated

everyone said just to remove the CD rom drive and plug the cables into the DVD and mount it.

Not really, new burners need an 80 wire cable. Most CD-ROM drives used a 40 wire cable.

You probably have a DMA issue. Go Here:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/f61/troubleshooting-enabling-checking-dma-windows-vista-xp-2000-me-9x-101616/

[QUOTE=MysticEyes;2295200]Not really, new burners need an 80 wire cable. Most CD-ROM drives used a 40 wire cable.

You probably have a DMA issue. Go Here:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/f61/troubleshooting-enabling-checking-dma-windows-vista-xp-2000-me-9x-101616/[/QUOTE]

Actually when i opened Nero a message said to turn it on dma but the system needs to restart, i selected to turn it on, restarted the computer but the message popped up again, ill try it your way, thanks