2 HDrives, Raid Partition or in Windows setup?

Hi to all…Happy Holidays!!!:bigsmile:

Although this Post started out as a Hard Drive question,I did not want to double post in the HARDWARE FORUM,but if a moderator wouild like to move this, that would be great!

Ok, I did it. After all the info I received from folks on this website about what I needed for a newbuild (Never done it before)

Here it is…I have a few questions…(for now) I know someone might post back to tell me I’ve made the biggest mistake, but I am not an expert.

B[/B] Do I have to use the RAID on the two hard drives to set up my partitions to alllow about 40GB on the primary Hard drive,or is this done while in setup Windows O.S?

I was going to get the ABIT IP35 Pro,but got this…
MSI P35 Platinum Intel Chipset crossfire Raid MoBo (Onboard 7.1 Audio)

Two Hard drives:
1) 74GB Raptor for O.S. and Applications, and maybr partition that for a little storage (10,000K RPM)
2) 500GB WD Sata II (7200RPM) - For Video Files,MP3’s,PSD, Jpgs,and document Storage.
Intel Core2Duo Quad Q6600
700w Thermaltake ATX 12v 2.2 PSU
2GB DDR2 PC6400/800 Ram
EVGA eForce 8600GT 512MB DDR2 GPU
CoolerMaster 690 ATX,Mid tower case (supports 7 Fans)

B [/B]Another thing is the Quad…Is this alot of work trying to control the temperatures,or is this pretty straight forward Plug/play? (I’m thinking I should have got a DuoCore2 E6850 instead)

B[/B] Can I plug the case fans directly into the Power supply leads instead of the Mobo?

B[/B] Do I need to install e-sata or Pci-e drivers from somewhere in Bios, before any certain time during the rebuild?

(5) I have four 4 Dimm DDR2 Slots.I am going to use two @ 1GB each, Can they be consecutive like start in A1, A2, side by side,…Or do you go A1, B2 slot? The MSI Mobo booklet is not clear.