2.4x support for SH-S182M? (Discs I'm using are Maxell DVD+R 16x)

vbimport

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I’m a bit of a noob and recently bought this burner (from Best Buy) after my old one died. I began using it right away once it arrived but I noticed that the only supported speeds were 4x, 8x, and 16x when inserting a Maxell 4.7GB DVD+R 16X. They’re ID’d as Ricoh discs so I’m pretty sure they’re perfectly fine.

This was strange since my previous burner which was an HP dvd640c (now dead) allowed 2.4x speed using the same type of discs, from the same exact spindle I have now.

Is my new Samsung drive in need of a firmware update, or is it perfectly normal for the only speeds to be 4x, 8x, 16x using Maxell 16x DVD+Rs? The Samsung is fairly new since it was manufactured in Aug 2006 while my old HP burner was made an entire year earlier. I suspect it broke since I kept burning at 2.4x when I shouldn’t have… Maybe. So I’m guessing newer drives only support 4x as the minimum speed using 16x max discs.

If it isn’t a firmware problem, would 2.4x be supported using these (Verbatim DVD+Rs 1x-8x)?

I’m somewhat hesitant on upgrading firmware since I have bad experiences upgrading with my previous burner. I thought I’d ask here whether the discs I’m using now can burn at slower speeds than 4x before purchasing the Verbatims. I want to be sure if it’s a problem with the burner or the current media I’m using.

Thanks and sorry for being so long winded.

edit: Whoops. I should’ve read this thread first, sorry. I seriously must’ve skimmed over that one before clicking on the new thread button. Well since the damage was dealt, my case is similar except I’m using single layer media and I want to burn at 2.4x.