1rst BTC scan w/ firmware AO86

vbimport

I thought these scans were pretty good especially since it was my first burn
since updating the formware to AO86 and figured I would share them.
Budzos

What burn speed?

Burned at 8x. I did not have the option to burn any faster or I would have tried. Is there a way to get these to burn faster on this BTC?
Budzos

I can’t answer that. I don’t have any BTC drives.
When someone posts a scan it’s nice to know the speed used to burn.

I will make sure I post the burn speed next time. Thanks for the reminder, I am kind of new at this scan posting thing.
Budzos

with the MediaCodeSpeedEdit-Tool from ala42 you should be able “unlock” the write speed for this media.

I tried to load in the firmware but it would not work. Maybe it was scrambled but the only
firmware I could find was packaged with the windows updater and that could be the problem as well.
Thanks, Budzos

Start the flasher and while it is running, have a look at your c:\windows emp directory. The flasher creates a directory named PAC*.temp.DIR. You will find A086.HEX inside. MCSE 1.0.4.16 seams to work with A086.

I found the AO86 hex but now how do I run it after it goes thru mediacodedit? I haven’t
had to deal with anything other than Liteon stuff so this is a little new to me

You can flash the .bin file with mtkflash in DOS, if your drive is connected to the onboard ide bus, see this guide. You better disconnect your other drives for the flash to avoid flashing them by mistake.

Could I flash with MKTWinflash or will that cause problems? I currently don’t have a floppy in this computer.
Thanks, Budzos

I don’t think that it is possible to flash using WinFlash. I would suggest you to create a DOS BootCD with the files. You can send me the File and I would create a Nero image for you if you like. (H3rB3i@hotmail.com)

I have sent the bin file I created from the AO86 hex file. Thank you for your assistance, I