1640 - Bad/Marginal Burns w/ TY?

I’d like to get some feedback on these scans. I’m new to the DVD scene and I’m trying to learn so please bear w/ me. Attached are the first three burns/scans on my 1640. Something tells me I should be getting better results. I’m most concerned with the scan which received a 59 QS and would like to get some input as to why I keep a getting sloping/spiking behavior near the end of the burn. I’d appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

Media: Fuji DVD+R 8x (MIJ - TY)
Burn Speed: 8x
Firmware: BSLB (Except 1st burn - 93 QS was with BSHB)
Nothing besides firmware changed (Qsuite isn’t even installed)

Also, sorry about the crappy pic format. I forgot to use the built-in screen cap.

The burns seem fine except for the spikes at the end. Some might even say the burns are within the realm of normal given wide variations in hardware and disc quality. Would you happen to know if the edges had fingerprints or dust that might account for the spikes? It also could be misreading the edges. Maybe try a firmware upgrade to BSMB and rescan to see if there is a difference.

Download and install QSuite 2.0(use this with BSLB) and activate the Solid Burn. This allows the burner to learn “trouble” areas of the disk and seems to smooth things out with “not so good” media.

Give the above a try and repost results.

Thanks for the replies.

Ok, I installed QSuite 2.0 and enabled SB. (I left WOPC at default - ON)

I may try with WOPC off for my next burn.

Burned @ 8x from same stack. :frowning: (Still getting the spike)

im having the same problem with my fuji’s, a lot have higher than normal error rates at the end of the disc when scanned on the 1640, most look ok on the 1620 though.

apart from a few with very high error rates at the end. will not be using them for anything important as i dont trust the edge of the discs on my remaining 8 tubs.

Hi :slight_smile:
gr33dy