1633S can't read/write normal cds

Hi,

I recently bought a SOHW-1633S, it can read/burn dvds w/o problems. But every time i try to read a presed cd or insert a cd-r to write, it apears to start spining the disc but then explorer or nero hungs.

I have a HD in the primary master

In the secondary there’s LTD163D as master and the 1633s as slave

The 1633s came with firmware BS0C, i flashed BS0K started noticing the problem , went back to BS0C and the problem didnt go away.

Any help is appreciated.

Your not the first with this problem, but todate I have not seen a solution. Try the 1633S on it’s own, as the secondary master, and see if that helps. In the last thread about this, it happened after an erasing of a CD-RW, and the drive had to be RMAed in the end.

i have the same problem and my drive is on the secondary master already. This is a silly question but wot does RMAed mean?

What is my best port of action to solve this irritating problem?

:a

Can anyone out there help. Thanx

Return Material Authorization. Basically it means return the drive for repair or replacement.

C0deKing, now i remember erasing a cd-rw, before flashing to BS0K.

I tried with the drive alone in the primary and secundary, as master and slave and nothing. No reading/writing to cd’s.

I will try to rma it

thanks anyway

Same problem, erased a cdrw and now I can’t read/write any CD, CDR, or CDRW. This is annoying as hell. I sent my old 812s back because it couldn’t burn dvds for anything, I get a great burning 1213s and this happens. I’m about to give up on Lite-On.

Same problem here… but the drive is less than a week old, is the Master (and only) drive on the secondary IDE and I have not used it to erase a CD-RW.

I did update the firmware to BS0K though… I don’t know if I was having this problem previous to that or not.

Has anyone found a solution? And does anyone know where I can get older versions of the firmware so I can try to flash it back to BS0C?

Thanks.