1620pro second thoughts

vbimport

considering all the great and brilliant reviews for this drive i feel a bit disaapointed.
Numerous ppl say its good with any media thrown at it, however i find it cant even deal with basic normal discs.
Been burning coasters on my massive stash of daxon az1, imation cd-rs and not too mention all my cd-rws not one worked…
All cd-rs and rws have worked in my asus burner in theory should work well with dvd burner; well that doesnt matter cause ill use cdrs and rws with my asus…however what about my dvd media :frowning:

Having tried a number of different brands ( verbatim, Sony, TDK, Ritek) I now only buy FUJI +R 8X - made in Japan i.e Tayo Yuden YUDEN000 T02.

If one of these produces a coaster with a BenQ then I would look for a system problem.

true…true…
the thing is i bulk brought my disks bout ~200 of em in taiwan
and since im a student away from home…cash is scarce
hopefully, benq can come up wiht a logical and easy fix for my problem

Are you on the latest firmware B7U9?

Try burning cheaper media at slower speeds (ie do not overspeed) and see if you get better results. Only with non brand marked media do I have issues with this drive (as with any drive). Also, make sure you have the latest firmware. Try some Taiyo Yuden T02s and if you do not get a good burn then you should look at returning it for another drive as it may be defective. To identify the true manufacter of you dvds use dvdidentifier.

im using the b7s9 firmware…im gonna wait for benqs reply and see…if i have to ill update my firmware to the t9…cause benq uses daxon discs in their oem disc …so in theory it should work
nah i burn at the lowest speed…2.4x