1620 not reading a couple of types of disc

vbimport

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

First of all I’d like to say what a useful forum what a useful forum :bow:

My question is basically, is my BenQ 1620 OK or is there a problem? Read on…

Ok I’ve done a search, but found nothing (however this thread http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=119645&page=2&pp=25 was very useful)

I purchased the player last week. I have the The B7T9 firmware installed.

I have 25 Ridisc 8 x DVD-R and 10 Datasafe DVD-RW that won’t even read on the player. I did read somewhere on here that the player doesn’t like media <2 x speed???

I have burned things successfully to Packard Bell DVD+R’s and to the free BenQ disk that came with it (DVD+R).

I also bought 25 Datawrite red 4xDVD-r, only 5 of these worked (I was told today that these have been discontinued-but I don’t know the reason for the discontinuance)

So from 5 types, 3 haven’t worked.

I’m fairly new to this DVD copying lark-I was looking to burn some films for my family to watch with spanish subtitles.

Oh…and I can’t install sonic record. I get mesage box that says “C:\Winnt\system32\autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and \Microsoft Widows applications”???

Are you sure the DVD player supports -R most do but the +R format is the format of choice for the newer dvd players. As long as you use booktyping with the +R / RW media it is the most compatible with dvd players. Also try other -R media to see if thats a problem as some media doesnt burn as well as others.

For your remaining Ritek 8X -R media, burning them more slowly may increase compatibility with your set-top player. Some set-top players are allergic to some medias.

For the RW discs that misbehave, be sure to format/erase them first so that they will fully conform to the drive without any leftovers.