16:9 Widescreen?

vbimport

I’ve just got a new bluray player with USB port and now I’m ripping all my DVDs to put my entire collection on a 2TB USB HD attached to the player.

I have a 1920px800p movie on my external USB HD and the movie is without black bars and letterboxing.

If I just play the movie as it is with Bluray settings of “16:9 widescreen” for my FULL HD TV I see a vertically stretched image (horizontally shrinked) which occupies all the size of the monitor, which is really awful.

After changing the video settings on my Bluray Player from “16:9 widescreeen” to simply “16:9” for my TV, the player (or the TV??) adds the bars itself and I can watch the movie correctly (with correct 1:78 ratio).

So it was just a matter of changing “16:9 widescreen” to “16:9”.

As I’m a complete newbie, can you explain what is the difference between the two settings as my TV is a full HD 1920px1080p (which I think it IS a “widescreen”!) ??

Thanks in advance for your kindness.

It’s most likely that the player & TV don’t use exactly the same terminology.
It seems to me the “full screen” (16:9 wide screen) is coming on with the resolution either “zoomed” or “stretched” . If your TV has this kind of settings you might verify this.
I haven’t looked it up but my guess is the 16:9 setting would be for an older CRT TV to play letterbox video better.

[QUOTE=cholla;2745579]It’s most likely that the player & TV don’t use exactly the same terminology.
It seems to me the “full screen” (16:9 wide screen) is coming on with the resolution either “zoomed” or “stretched” . If your TV has this kind of settings you might verify this.
I haven’t looked it up but my guess is the 16:9 setting would be for an older CRT TV to play letterbox video better.[/QUOTE]

Thanks!! but what is the resolution of a “16:9 widescreen” then to properly add letterboxing to a 1920x800 image?? mine is 1920x1080, shouldn’t it be widescreen and render the image properly??