10 hrs of mp3 on a single cd?

vbimport

Sorry, total noob here. I installed a new car stereo receiver, jvc kd-hdr1, which says it plays both audio cd cd-da as well as mp3 and wma. I thought I had read that one can put up to 10 hrs of music on a single cd. Is that only for an mp3 player like ipod or can I also do that with my car stereo? I’ve been reading about rippers/burners/encoders and am more confused than ever.

Hi and Welcome!

if your car CD player also supports mp3 (and/or wma), then you can indeed put up to 10 hrs of music onto a disc. It’s an mp3 data disc then. Please read the manual of your player. There should be some information about that feature (if present).

Michael

I posted a how to make one of these CD -R discs in the link below.
http://club.cdfreaks.com/f34/mp3-cd-jumpy-car-stereo-242272/#post2030762
Don’t do this on a DVD disc unless you only want it to play on your computer.The DVD settops standalones won’t play a DVD with .mp3s but will play a CD -R made this way.At least DVD players that will play .mp3.This way you can play these CD -R’s through your settop to your home stereo amp.I put this in so you would know there is a way to play this disc somewhere besides a car stero.

Thanks guys, that really helps. More questions tho. I have downloaded and burned music to cd’s mostly at 196 bkps. If is at 128 kbps can I improve the quality by ripping it with eac or cdex, or is it already in a fixed state?

You can increase scan rate, but your quality will stay same as 128. Once encoded at that, that is it.
On the other hand if it is mp3 and you will play it in the car, I do not think you will notice too much difference.

Like in the link I use 192kbps.

It really comes down to basic math. The disk holds 700 MegaBytes. if your data streams at 128 KiloBits per second, that’s 12.8 KiloBytes per second. 60 seconds to a minute, 60 minutes to the hour, well you do the math…FWIW you can fit 1.5 times as much music at 128 Kbps than at 192 Kbps.