1 GB of data on a 700 MB CD-R?

Hi. I’m a newbie to this forum, but not to the systems industry (I’ve been a systems developer for about 25 years). Unfortunately, as much as I read the industry stuff, I just cannot keep up with all the changes, updates, etc. of the system. So this question may turn out to be really basic to many of you:

I have a standard Imation 700mb CD-R written in CDFS format and has several folder names in MS-DOS format (e.g., FINANC~1). I wanted to change the name of the folders for clarity, so I just thought I’d copy the data over to my hard drive, correct the names, then rewrite the data back to a blank CD.

Copied the data to hard drive (no problem). Corrected the names (no problem). But when I started to write the data to a blank CD, I got an error message telling me that there was not enough room on the CD to take the data.

“Huh?” I thought to myself.

I checked the total size of the data on the source CD in CDFS format; it totaled 600MB (100MB of the CD showed as free space). Checked the total space of the copies on my hard drive; they totaled more than 1GB of storage.

“HUH?!” I thought to myself again, but this time with more emphasis.

I checked the sizes of the data again, 2 different ways with 2 different results:
(a) Using Windows Explorer, I highlighted “My Computer” on the left side, then highlighted the Source CD-R on the right side and saw that it had 600MB of data and 100 MB of free space.
(b) Using Windows Explorer, highlighted the CD drive on the left side, then highlighted all the files and directories on the CD (that were shown on the right side) and checked the properties, only to find that it was more than 1GB of space.

“HUH?!” I thought to myself yet again.