1:1 from DVD9 to DVDR

vbimport

I’d like to make a perfect 1:1 copy of a DVD9 on which only about 4GB are used, meaning that it’ll fit a regular DVDR without the need for compression.

Could you please advise me about the best way and software to do this ?

are you saying that you want to discard unwanted extras to make it fit onto a single dvd? or that you want to split the dvd9 over two dvd5s?

I’m saying neither… sorry if I wasn’t clear enough.

I meant that the original DVD9 only has about 4GB of data on it anyway.

If there’s only about 4 gig of data, then just read with Decrypter in iso mode and burn to a standard-sized blank with Decrypter (or other iso burning program of your choice).

Thanks, that’s probably the answer I needed. :slight_smile:

I’m new to all this for now, basically just trying to figure out what’s the best, easiest and quickest way to backup those 4GB out of a DVD9 into a 4.7GB DVDR with byte by byte perfect quality, without any compression or recoding or anything like that.

I suppose the menus and everything else will work as in the original with Decrypter + ISO by the way ?

yes it copies all that is on the original dvd

D

I just burned my backup using the above method and everything seems fine. I was worrying about read compatibility and I did use a cheap disc but both my burner and DVD-ROM as well as the standalone player recognize the backup and seem able to play it just fine. It was rather fast and simple to do it, too. :smiley:

Is there anything I should know about disc durability ? Probably no one knows for sure since this stuff hasn’t been around for that long but are there any considerations you think are realistically important when thinking about long term backups ? I’d hate having my backup discs deteriorate and become useless in a few years time.

And yes, I am reading the media forum as I type this. :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks again.