Old 05-10-2004   #251
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Vanderlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 405
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Erik,

I hear in your next update that you will be able to change the 1x scan speed on the quality test with BenQ drives to 4x and 8x and it will report PIF errors with current firmwares. Is this true?
__________________
Asus A7N8X/Barton 2500
BenQ DW1620
Lite-on LTR-52246S
Vanderlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #252
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 458
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

is there an eta for the benq enhanced scanning?
uknown1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #253
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon
Another thing to notice is that the Toshiba SD-M1802 does not report PIF at all for dvd scans (that is, it cannot report them, even if they exist).

For CD scans it does report C2, but I'm not sure the results are useful (maximum 220 c2 on a disc that is readable).

Also, it reports jitter for and speed for cd scans that are totally whacked (see attachment): speed jumps from 1x to 99x and jitter is reportedly at 0,3%.
I don't think this drive can report PIFs but I will check these issues asap.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #254
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon
Erik,

can you quickly summarize which chipsets are currently supported?

- Mediatek (LiteOn, Toshiba, etc)
- ALI (AOpen
- Philips (Philips, BenQ, NuTech)

Are there others?
- VIA (Toshiba SD-M1802)
- Ricoh (AOpen, Ricoh)
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #255
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by muchin
Would you comment on some related questions? Does the error test under advanced DAE quality test also use MMC command? Is it possible to choose different speeds for this test? When I got very different profiles by this test and the disc quality test for the test CD disc created by Nero CD-DVD Speed using the same drive, what does it mean?

This wonderful unique program allows many drives to perform many tests. Bravo
The Advanced DAE Error test indeed uses the standard MMC command.

The speed is not changed for this test so you can use Nero DriveSpeed to set the speed first.

Normally the results from the Advanced DAE Error test should compare well with the Disc Quality test. Do you have some screenshots which can show the difference?
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #256
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanderlow
Erik,

I hear in your next update that you will be able to change the 1x scan speed on the quality test with BenQ drives to 4x and 8x and it will report PIF errors with current firmwares. Is this true?
Yes, this is true
A new firmware upgrade may not be needed after all.
Here is another screenshot:
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


The test works fine for single layer DVDs but testing dual layer DVDs and CDs is not fully working yet.
But normally a new version should be out by the end of the week.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #257
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 113
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Thanks for your great work, Erik.
starless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #258
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Is it just me, or is that quite a bad scan for a ricoh-disc? What speed and burner did you use?
tomlevels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004   #259
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Formosa
Posts: 305
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikDeppe
The Advanced DAE Error test indeed uses the standard MMC command.

The speed is not changed for this test so you can use Nero DriveSpeed to set the speed first.

Normally the results from the Advanced DAE Error test should compare well with the Disc Quality test. Do you have some screenshots which can show the difference?
Among three drives tested, two behaved in normal ways, only a Liteon 40X writer did not. Please see the attachments for the screenshots.

The total C2 errors at 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, and 40X are 0 or 1. The test disc is created by the same drive on a TDK CD-RW.
<O</O
After asking the questions, I have repeated the tests a few times. The Disc Quality Test at each speed still gave quite reproducible results. Although the reproducibility for the Advanced DAE Error Test became lower, the C2 patterns for the two tests were never the same. I wonder whether this phenomenon is a sign of a failing drive. If so, I am sorry for having wasted your time.<O</O

I had tried Drive Speed before, but it could not effectively control the speed in Advanced DAE Error Test by the Liteon writer. The time spent varied from 5 to 50 min. when max speed was chosen. Will you be interested in adding speed selection feature to this test?<O</O
Attached Images
   

Last edited by muchin; 05-10-2004 at 23:12.
muchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004   #260
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
DerDembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikDeppe
I'm not sure what could cause this problem but I will check it.
Sorry for my delayed answer Erik, if I can be of any help to you (supplying dumps etc.) please contact me - for a screenshot, take a look at: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=102402 I think it might be that the returned values get garbled by the Firewire-IDE Bridge (rotating bytes maybe?) but I don't know how to check for it...

TIA for looking into it.
DerDembo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004   #261
CDFreaks Resident
 
rfjr23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,174
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Can someone tell me what this means. Itried using kprobe but was informed that it is for lite on drives..I am using btc drives The first one is a 16X dvd-rom BDV316E ver.0052 and the second is ide1004 ver.0151

the first one is of the original on the dvd rom

the second one is the backup on RICHJPN01 and in the 1004 ver. 0151

the third one is the backup on RICHJPN01 and in the BDV316E ver. 0052

I have no clue on to what any of this means, but i am wanting to learn how to tell weather i am making quality backups.(I still want it to work in a year from now)Thanks for any help
__________________
Believe nothing you hear and half of what you see and none of what you remember.
_______________________________________________________
I hate these Error 404 Pages dont you ? Latest RIAA Lawsuit

" Before you turn any screw, or loosen any bolt, check the nut behind the keyboard"


rfjr23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004   #262
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 522
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Erik,

now that Optorite (Sanyo) has dumped the support and sales for UM Doctor Pro II, would it be possible to get Optorite drives supported in CD speed?

For reference: UM Doctor Pro II

http://www.digital-sanyo.com/BURN-Proof/store/

Optorite DD0401/DD0405 and DD1203/DD1025 chipset (Sanyo LC897490 and Sanyo LC897491 respectively):

http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...ArticleId=8536
http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...ArticleId=9905

Looks like the upcoming Optorite (DD1603) might also be based on the Sanyo chipset.

At least UM Doctor Pro can show both C1/C2 and PI/PIF on those Optorite burners.

It would be a very welcome addition, if you feel it's worth the effort and possible to do.

Thanks again for continuing the development of CD Dvd Speed!
Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004   #263
CDFreaks Resident
 
Jamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on your computer
Posts: 3,621
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikDeppe
Yes, this is true
A new firmware upgrade may not be needed after all.


The test works fine for single layer DVDs but testing dual layer DVDs and CDs is not fully working yet.
But normally a new version should be out by the end of the week.
Very nice so you are looking at getting it to give C2 errors for CDs as well?
__________________
Current DVD Hardware:
8x: Liteon SOHW-832, Benq DW822, NEC ND-2500
12x: LG GSA-4120, Plextor PX-712A
16x: Pioneer DVR-108, Benq DW-1620A, Benq DW1655, NEC ND3500A, Plextor PX-716A, LG LG4163, Liteon SOHW-1693, NEC 4550, Pioneer DVR-111D
18x: Plextor 760A
Jamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004   #264
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 458
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

anything on this new version yet. its the end of the week. :-/
uknown1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004   #265
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Vanderlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 405
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

The BenQ forum is waiting with much anticipation.
__________________
Asus A7N8X/Barton 2500
BenQ DW1620
Lite-on LTR-52246S
Vanderlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004   #266
CDFreaks Resident
 
KenW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA Los Angeles area
Posts: 1,470
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikDeppe
Yes, this is true
The test works fine for single layer DVDs but testing dual layer DVDs and CDs is not fully working yet.
But normally a new version should be out by the end of the week.

What about benQ 1620a will it also be able to scan at 4x and 8x?
__________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz Intel D975XBX2
LG-GGW-H20L YL03
Plextor 755SA 1.08
Samsung SH-S203B SB03
KenW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #267
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomlevels
Is it just me, or is that quite a bad scan for a ricoh-disc? What speed and burner did you use?
That's a bad scan indeed
I burned it at 8x but I can't remember which burner I used.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #268
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by muchin
Among three drives tested, two behaved in normal ways, only a Liteon 40X writer did not. Please see the attachments for the screenshots.

The total C2 errors at 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, and 40X are 0 or 1. The test disc is created by the same drive on a TDK CD-RW.
<O</O
After asking the questions, I have repeated the tests a few times. The Disc Quality Test at each speed still gave quite reproducible results. Although the reproducibility for the Advanced DAE Error Test became lower, the C2 patterns for the two tests were never the same. I wonder whether this phenomenon is a sign of a failing drive. If so, I am sorry for having wasted your time.<O</O

I had tried Drive Speed before, but it could not effectively control the speed in Advanced DAE Error Test by the Liteon writer. The time spent varied from 5 to 50 min. when max speed was chosen. Will you be interested in adding speed selection feature to this test?<O</O
I ran some tests but everything look ok here.
Perhaps you can try the latest firmware?

Here are some screenshots:
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


I will try to add speed settings for the Advanced DAE test in the next version.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #269
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerDembo
Sorry for my delayed answer Erik, if I can be of any help to you (supplying dumps etc.) please contact me - for a screenshot, take a look at: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=102402 I think it might be that the returned values get garbled by the Firewire-IDE Bridge (rotating bytes maybe?) but I don't know how to check for it...

TIA for looking into it.
I tried to test it but unfortunately the BenQ drive doesn't work with my Firewire-IDE bridge.

But normally a new version of Nero CD-DVD Speed should be released later today so maybe you can test this version first?
This version uses a different scanning method for 8x BenQ recorders.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #270
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfjr23
Can someone tell me what this means. Itried using kprobe but was informed that it is for lite on drives..I am using btc drives The first one is a 16X dvd-rom BDV316E ver.0052 and the second is ide1004 ver.0151

the first one is of the original on the dvd rom

the second one is the backup on RICHJPN01 and in the 1004 ver. 0151

the third one is the backup on RICHJPN01 and in the BDV316E ver. 0052

I have no clue on to what any of this means, but i am wanting to learn how to tell weather i am making quality backups.(I still want it to work in a year from now)Thanks for any help
The transfer rate graphs are looking good.
But the Disc Quality test will give you a more detailed view of the quality (Extra -> Disc Quality).

btw. the first screenshot shows that your drive is not using Ultra DMA which is needed to read at >10x.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #271
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon
Erik,

now that Optorite (Sanyo) has dumped the support and sales for UM Doctor Pro II, would it be possible to get Optorite drives supported in CD speed?

For reference: UM Doctor Pro II

http://www.digital-sanyo.com/BURN-Proof/store/

Optorite DD0401/DD0405 and DD1203/DD1025 chipset (Sanyo LC897490 and Sanyo LC897491 respectively):

http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...ArticleId=8536
http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...ArticleId=9905

Looks like the upcoming Optorite (DD1603) might also be based on the Sanyo chipset.

At least UM Doctor Pro can show both C1/C2 and PI/PIF on those Optorite burners.

It would be a very welcome addition, if you feel it's worth the effort and possible to do.

Thanks again for continuing the development of CD Dvd Speed!
I will ask
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #272
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

The new version is being tested and normally it should be released later today.
That's the good news
The bad news is that the enhanced scanning function for BenQ recorders only works with the 8x burners at the moment.
For the 16x burners a new firmware or a new version of Nero CD-DVD Speed (or both) is needed.

Here is a screenshot of a CD test:
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #273
Opti Drive Control Author
 
ErikDeppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 376
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Here are some of the other changes:

1)
The PI/PO test has been calibrated for a number of drives.
Basically this means you will get comparable graphs and comparable quality scores.

Here are a few screenshots to illustrate this:
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


So even though the errors are up to 3000x higher the graphs and scores are similar.
The colored bars on the background are an indication of the acceptable number of errors. For a good scan the PIFs should stay in the green area.
For LiteOn DVD burners this limit is set to 4 PIFs.

2)
Advanced CD jitter test (only for certain AOpen combo drives and CD-RW recorders)

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


3)
The Create Data Disc function can now write the test results to the disc.
So then you will always know which drive/firmware/speed was used to burn the disc
The Disc Quality test can use this information:

Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
__________________
Download Opti Drive Control:
http://www.cdspeed2000.com
http://www.optidrivecontrol.com
ErikDeppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #274
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
MediumRare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ffm
Posts: 316
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Hi Erik,
Thank you for your continued work on this tool. I'm looking forward to the new version!

I like the idea of marking an "in the green" area for PIF-counts as long as you don't change the values actually reported. From your samples, this seems to be for PIF only (the colour is hard to distinguish on my monitor- I'll have to try the new version myself. )

Storing "Create Data Disc" information on the disc itself is also a super idea, like your sample shows! Thank you!

With the increasing information you're making available, I'd like to repeat halcyon's request for labels on the axes (I'm a physicist and would like to see units on everything too). If there is a problem finding room for this information, adding a colour-code to the axes would do the trick.

What does the RH scale on the lower plots for the LiteOn and Asus drive refer to? (It's missing on the AOpen plot.)

G
MediumRare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004   #275
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 135
Re: CDSpeed v3 Disc Quality Test

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediumRare
With the increasing information you're making available, I'd like to repeat halcyon's request for labels on the axes (I'm a physicist and would like to see units on everything too). If there is a problem finding room for this information, adding a colour-code to the axes would do the trick.
Me too is asking for this. If there is a problem with the backroundcolor you could use shadows.
KillMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


« New Plextools | - »
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nero CD-DVD Speed, It does not work the test quality disc. MARK ll Disc Testing Methods and Software 37 01-04-2008 15:36
SH-S203B and CD-DVD Speed: disc quality test unavailable. alexandrebr Samsung / Toshiba / TSST Writer 2 21-10-2007 22:22
Performing disc quality test in nero cd dvd speed fails Hannez Asus / Pioneer Writer 2 07-01-2007 11:51
Need an SATA DVD writer that works with CD Speed (Disc Quality test) thegdog CD, DVD and Blu-ray Writers 6 18-09-2006 21:28
For Nero CD Speed Disc Quality Scan how many PI/PIF errors are too many? GohWL Disc Testing Methods and Software 1 15-04-2005 15:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:47.
Top