Old 18-04-2009   #1
New on Forum
 
hayduke3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "HayDuke Lives", @ the confluence of the Green and Colorado Rivers, Lizard Rock, "The Maze", Flint Trail culdesac, Needles district, Canyonlands of the American SouthWest.
Posts: 3
Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

  I would much appreciate any info on anyones success in setting up 4 different bootable OS XP 32 & 64, plus Vista 32 & 64, on a RAID 0 configuration. Can it be done?   I have (2) 300g Velociraptors, on an ASUS CrossHair ll formula board, Phenom 2, 940 Black Edition. Do I set up the RAID 0 and start with XP or with Vista? 64 or 32 first? Should I use some software such as;"System Commander" from VCOM? Or can windows take care of it all?? Thanks in advance, A real "NEWBIE" here. I think I should post this under a different topic? such as; "Newbie guy seeks advice"

Last edited by hayduke3; 18-04-2009 at 16:41. Reason: Errors in original, wrong site?
hayduke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2009   #2
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Re: Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

This guide shows dual booting.
http://apcmag.com/the_definitive_dua...stepbystep.htm
Simply repeat after installing the 1st 2 OSs'.
Yes Windows multiloader will cope.
Lacky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2009   #3
New on Forum
 
hayduke3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "HayDuke Lives", @ the confluence of the Green and Colorado Rivers, Lizard Rock, "The Maze", Flint Trail culdesac, Needles district, Canyonlands of the American SouthWest.
Posts: 3
Re: Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

Thank You
hayduke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2009   #4
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Re: Booting Multi Operating systems, 32 & 64 & XP & Vista?

Yes, but you will need 4 primary partitions, so each OS will be self contained.
While you can try 3x primary partitions, and one to a Logical Drive in the Secondary partition, you're probably asking for trouble.
Install XP32, Install XP64, Vista x32 & then Vista x64.

You must install the 2x WinXP's first, they don't understand Vista & will stop them from working during the install.

Can I ask why you are installing Vista x32?
__________________
/* ----- I remember when all this will happen again -----*/

You will be baked ... and there will be cake ... you monster.
Click here to still be alive!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. --Terry Pratchett

Primary PC: 1.4Ghz Quad Core Cortex A9, 2048MB Ram, Mali 400 video, 32GB Primary, 64Gb Secondary, 802.11N 2.4/5Ghz, 1280x800@10.1" with one years supply of Jelly Beans

Secondary PC: i7-Q720@1.6Ghz, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid HDD, Win7 x64 BusPre, Ati HD5470M-1GB, backlit keyboard.

Tertiary PC: Amd Phenom II 945, 4GB DDR2, 120GB Plextor M5S, AMD HD7850(OC) 2GB , Win8 Pro, 24" 1920x1200, cordless keyboard + mouse + gaming mouse.
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2009   #5
CD Freaks Rookie
 
Lovelygirl888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Re: Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

I want to know it too.
Lovelygirl888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009   #6
New on Forum
 
hayduke3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: "HayDuke Lives", @ the confluence of the Green and Colorado Rivers, Lizard Rock, "The Maze", Flint Trail culdesac, Needles district, Canyonlands of the American SouthWest.
Posts: 3
Re: Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

Isn't there any advantages to having Vista 32 along with XP 32? Or? If software would require 32 bit hardware, would XP 32 be able to handle all 32 bit applications?
So, are you saying I should only install 3 OS to handle any possible applications? XP 32 & 64, and also VISTA 64? I thought it might be interesting to also play with Windows7.??
Let me run this by you and see what you think? I have (2) 300g Velociraptors in RAID '0'. I partition this array, (say for simplicity) , into (4) equal 150g partititions. I install XP32 first, XP64 next, then VISTA64, and maybe WINDOWS7? Can this be done without the help of a Multi Boot program such as VCOM System commander?
Any experience with this is new to this newbie, So; "THANKS!" in advance.

Last edited by hayduke3; 02-05-2009 at 15:39. Reason: grammer
hayduke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009   #7
Blown to smitherines
 
debro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Between the CDFreaks Orange and Blue Portals
Posts: 13,685
Re: Multi boot options, 64 & 32 bit on RAID array

Unless you are testing programs in Os's for end users, quite frankly, you would only use WinXP x32 & Windows7 x64

WindowsXP 32 is more likely to have everything work better than vista32, because it's old, reliable & companies are well versed in it's quirks.
Advantage of Vista32 is ... DX10 Video hardware support (for games), but I understand there is a hacked version of DX10 for WinXP anyway

Windows 7 is the latest 64b offering, which is a great improvement to Vista64. Quite frankly, you can do away with installing Vista (any version), unless you can find and extremely compelling reason for it (aka testing for end-users).

And if you are installing multiple OS's to a (striped) raid array, I'd recommend a seperate (5400/7200rpm) HDD to store important documents/backups.

So, now you're down to Window7 X64 & WinXP x32 ... which I believe you will find most knowledgeable people would recommend. WinXP32 for Work, Windows7 for (new) games. Windows 7 is also free atm .. for the beta, and I understand that there is a public Release Candidate to be released later this month.

If you want something that all programs work in, you'd need to install MacOS & Linux, but I doubt that's what you want.

The advantage of a 64b OS is that it has access to >4GB of addressable space. Any programs designed for WinXP (32b programs ... which is the Vast majority currently, and for the next few years ... won't significantly benefit from a 64b OS (Except Games & Corporate/Scientific software).

Currently, the only programs which will benefit from a 64b OS (for home users) are games, which chew up lots of Ram ... but even then, it's only a matter of accesible RAM, as most are still only running 32b instructions, but use a 64b addressable storage space.
__________________
/* ----- I remember when all this will happen again -----*/

You will be baked ... and there will be cake ... you monster.
Click here to still be alive!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. --Terry Pratchett

Primary PC: 1.4Ghz Quad Core Cortex A9, 2048MB Ram, Mali 400 video, 32GB Primary, 64Gb Secondary, 802.11N 2.4/5Ghz, 1280x800@10.1" with one years supply of Jelly Beans

Secondary PC: i7-Q720@1.6Ghz, 4GB, 500GB Hybrid HDD, Win7 x64 BusPre, Ati HD5470M-1GB, backlit keyboard.

Tertiary PC: Amd Phenom II 945, 4GB DDR2, 120GB Plextor M5S, AMD HD7850(OC) 2GB , Win8 Pro, 24" 1920x1200, cordless keyboard + mouse + gaming mouse.
debro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: vista 32 or 64 bit duncan30c Newbie Forum 2 15-12-2008 17:49
32-bit OS and 64-bit CPU Sodom General Software 5 23-11-2007 14:32
64-bit vs. 32-bit Vista...advantages / disadvantages Hyperspace General Software 24 12-03-2007 18:54
64 v 32 bit CPU Jrik Newbie Forum 28 04-04-2005 15:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:35.
Top