Old 14-03-2005   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
PS2 Backups

Has someone managed to create reliable backups of PS2 DVD games with Pioneer DVR-109?

I've burnt two games @ 2x and my PS2 v4 struggles while trying to load them... but they actually work after 4 or 5 attempts (something pretty annoying).

I'm using:
- RecordNow Max 4.5 with PX engine DLL's
- Ritek G05 DVD-R
- burn speed @ 2x
- WinXP Pro SP2
- Pioneer DVR-109 fw 1.09
- PS2 v4 with Messiah 2

I didn't have any problems using model DVR-108. Burns where perfect, but I sold it...

Please post any suggestions, configuration, settings, software, tips, and so on...

Thanks!
Lost Link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2005   #2
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

I have done a few that are fine.

I'm using:
- Nero 6.6.0.6
- Ritek G05 DVD-R
- burn speed @ 8x-12x
- WinXP Pro SP2
- Pioneer DVR-109, flashed it to the A09 but did successfull burns before this.

Try burning faster on the Riteks. I did backup of Getaway Black Monday at 2x and everything was stuffed with it. Couldn't load some parts of the city and failed. Copied at 8x and it was fine.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2005   #3
MyCE Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BC
Posts: 108
Re: PS2 Backups

So if you have 8x (or higher) certified media, you should always burn at least at 4x to get the writing quality even on console backups? My DVR-108 did not let me burn lower, but my DVR-107 does. I always burnt them at 4x, I should go on, right? Would you say it produces a better burn than old 4x and lower media, especially on readers with sensible lenses such as the PS2 and when it's a console game?

And would you say burning at higher speeds than 4x (like xabi did) would be worse for console DVD-R burns?
Peralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005   #4
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

Yes, if you have 8x DVD-Rs don't burn at 2x. It should be safe to burn them even higher then 4x. As I said mine are either between 8x or 12x on the 8x RITEK G05s and they have been successfull burns.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005   #5
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Re: PS2 Backups

I burn both Xbox and PS2 games at what ever speed my drive test me.

But one question has anyone been able to copy GT4? I've tried to burn it to a dual layer disc as the game is a dvd9 disc but it wont play. I can't find anything to help me reduce it to a dvd5, and copying it to my PS2 hard drive wont play the game either? can anyone help?
Gormenghast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005   #6
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

No one can do it yet. The problem is not protection or anything. It is that home dual layer burners do not yet have the ability to assign what goes on each layer(or the burning programs don't). So when you take the image file of GT4 and go to burn it on the dual layer DVD it splits it 50/50 on each layer. So when the game loads the driver safely screen after that it goes to call up the 2nd layer but can't find what it is looking for so fails.

What is needed is a program where u can actually assign what goes on each layer. But I don't think there is a program that does that in existance yet.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2005   #7
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 70
Re: PS2 Backups

what is the easiest way to let my PS2 use a game copy ? Add a chip i it ?

tx
Bagbug2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2005   #8
Moderator
 
Jesterrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,625
Re: PS2 Backups

Yes, a chip is the easiest way to read a backup. Anyways, has anyone here tried the new V1.40 firmware update for the drive. It is supposed to fix issues with videogame backups.
Jesterrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2005   #9
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

Haven't tried it yet mate. I didn't have any problems with my PS2 games anyway with Nero 6.6.0.6.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2005   #10
MyCE Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 102
Re: PS2 Backups

The Pioneer 109 cannot make good PS2 or X-Box backups on DVD-R using SAO writing strategy. Change to DVD+R or change your writing strategy.
Lowtrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2005   #11
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal allez allez
Posts: 122
Re: PS2 Backups

I have had issues with the backup of Metal Gear Solid 3 that i made with my A06. Backud it up with Nero and then burned into the Verbatin +R 4x at 4x. It didn't even booted on PS2... weird no?
Noua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2005   #12
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

Use -R. I never use +R.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #13
MyCE Resident
 
madmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,567
Re: PS2 Backups

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabi
Use -R. I never use +R.
DVD+R works for some and when bitset works even better although DVD-R is more compatible for older versions of ps2
madmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #14
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal allez allez
Posts: 122
Re: PS2 Backups

I have other games burned on this batch of media an none of them were bad... Collin Mcrae 2005 works fine, GTA San Andrea also works fine and a few more... I'll try to do it. I'm doing a copy dvd with nero 6. This is the way to do it right?
Noua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #15
MyCE Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BC
Posts: 108
Re: PS2 Backups

Every PS2 is different, and then again. Trial and error man!
Peralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #16
CD Freaks Member
 
P00r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 150
Re: PS2 Backups

Any reason why you are not updating to the latest firmware ???? (1.40...)
P00r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #17
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
Xabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Re: PS2 Backups

P00r is right. Update your firmware, try different media, software and speeds and see what works best.

Every system is different but trial and error is the best.
Xabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2005   #18
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 24
Re: PS2 Backups

I have a PS2 v4 and I've burnt many games which have all been successful. Also my friends v5 has had zero problems aswell. Used TYG02s aswell as shitty GSC003s. All work with zero qualms, altho watching a movie on some RICOHJPNRO2 DVD+Rs can be a lil skippy at some moments...
Busky2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2005   #19
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bristol,england
Posts: 20
Re: PS2 Backups

to copy most ps2 games, unless they are dvd9 or dual layer, is to use alcohol 120% makes perfect copy everytime just let alcohol deal with settings point, click and burn
happy burning
styl3r


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Link
Has someone managed to create reliable backups of PS2 DVD games with Pioneer DVR-109?

I've burnt two games @ 2x and my PS2 v4 struggles while trying to load them... but they actually work after 4 or 5 attempts (something pretty annoying).

I'm using:
- RecordNow Max 4.5 with PX engine DLL's
- Ritek G05 DVD-R
- burn speed @ 2x
- WinXP Pro SP2
- Pioneer DVR-109 fw 1.09
- PS2 v4 with Messiah 2

I didn't have any problems using model DVR-108. Burns where perfect, but I sold it...

Please post any suggestions, configuration, settings, software, tips, and so on...

Thanks!
styl3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2005   #20
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 368
Re: PS2 Backups

Dvddecrypter in ISO read write mode seems to do a good job for ripping and burning.
tigerman8u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Re: PS2 Backups

nah use sony or toshiba disc's or ulternativly u can use dvd-r not dvd+r it works most of the time(use dvd decrypter)
Vee22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009   #22
MyCE Resident
 
bjkg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,547
Re: PS2 Backups

@ Vee22,

Perchance are you aware that you just revived a 4-year-old dead Forum posting?

Regards,
bjkg
bjkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009   #23
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: PS2 Backups

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vee22 View Post
nah use sony or toshiba disc's or ulternativly u can use dvd-r not dvd+r it works most of the time(use dvd decrypter)
Not even this, but "toshiba discs". LOL ROFLMAO
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ps2 backups...how? intrepidus Newbie Forum 8 02-11-2004 12:03
ps2 backups o_jsimpson General Hardware Forum 1 20-01-2003 13:41
Help With Ps2 Backups JESS Newbie Forum 4 06-08-2002 23:23
PS2 MODCHIP! PLAY BACKUPS ON PS2!!! HKEXPORT Living Room 1 30-05-2000 21:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:24.
Top