Old 01-01-2010   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Sony Optiarc AD-7240S "Power Calibration Error" on Dual-Layer Burns Only?

I have a Lite-On iHAS324 for reading/scanning and a Sony Optiarc AD-7240S for burning.

I've used TDK 8x DL, Intact 8x DL (cheap brand), and Ritek 8x DL, and it intermittently gives me "power calibration errors" on dual-layer burns only.
I'll burn a half-dozen DL fine, and then the next few are all "power calibration errors".
Next time I use my computer for burning, it's the same story, some DL will burn fine, then the next few are coasters.
I have flashed the drive to latest firmware 1.03.

This happens with CloneCD, UltraISO, and Nero Express.
It always happens at about half-way, approx 40-60% through the copy process.
I have Windows 7 x64 Ultimate installed.
My power supply is a Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W W0133.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, if nothing fixes it, I'll try to pursue an RMA on this drive.

Thanks in advance.
nirvs.
nirvana_1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010   #2
Moderator
 
deanwitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The 10th city outside the 2nd City, U.S.
Posts: 2,698
Re: Sony Optiarc AD-7240S "Power Calibration Error" on Dual-Layer Burns Only?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nirvana_1911 View Post
I have a Lite-On iHAS324 for reading/scanning and a Sony Optiarc AD-7240S for burning.

I've used TDK 8x DL, Intact 8x DL (cheap brand), and Ritek 8x DL, and it intermittently gives me "power calibration errors" on dual-layer burns only.
I'll burn a half-dozen DL fine, and then the next few are all "power calibration errors".
Next time I use my computer for burning, it's the same story, some DL will burn fine, then the next few are coasters.
I have flashed the drive to latest firmware 1.03.

This happens with CloneCD, UltraISO, and Nero Express.
It always happens at about half-way, approx 40-60% through the copy process.
I have Windows 7 x64 Ultimate installed.
My power supply is a Thermaltake ToughPower 1200W W0133.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, if nothing fixes it, I'll try to pursue an RMA on this drive.

Thanks in advance.
nirvs.
Have you tried burning these discs in the 324? I've found my 324A to be a better DL burner than my 7240. Have you tried a slower burning speed? The DL's you've chosen can be troublesome for many burners.
__________________
Currently installed for testing: Lite-on DH20A4P-04(9P54) + Sony Optiarc AD-7200A(1.Z3) x2 "You want WHAT? OK, I can do that". + AD-7200S(1Z2) + AD-5280-CB-PLUS(1.Z7) + BenQ DW1650(BCIC) + BenQ DW1640(BSLB) x2 + Lite-on iHAS324-08 A(BL1H) + Asus DRW-24B1LT@iHAS424(ZLC1) + Asus DRW-24B1ST@iHAS324(BL1H) + Plextor PX-760A(1.03) + LG BD-RE WH10LS30(1.00) + Lite-on iHES208(8LOC) + Sammy SH-BO83L(SB01) + Pioneer BDR206(1.05) + Lite-on iHBS112-29(CLOK) + Pioneer BDR-205(1.12) + LG WH12LS39(1.00) + Lite-on iHBS212@Plextor PX-LB950SA(1.02)
deanwitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010   #3
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Sony Optiarc AD-7240S "Power Calibration Error" on Dual-Layer Burns Only?

Stay away from cheap DL or the trouble will not end.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Sony Optiarc AD-7240S "Power Calibration Error" on Dual-Layer Burns Only?

I've tried to burn DL with the iHAS-324, and have not had a single coaster.
It's only with the AD-7240S.
I've tried x6 a couple of times instead of 8x, and it copied fine.
I've used the Ritek 8x DL, and burned 10 DL discs one after each other, and did not have any coasters.
So I guess it was the media, and not the burner. I was about to RMA the AD-7240S.
nirvana_1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2010   #5
MyCE Resident
 
_chef_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: @FX labs .de ...playing LLAMATRON :-]
Posts: 31,135
Re: Sony Optiarc AD-7240S "Power Calibration Error" on Dual-Layer Burns Only?

Not getting a coaster doesnt mean the burn were fine.
__________________
Enable DMA with micrAp$0ft Enable DMA free at your will busTRACE => Upper/Lower Filters Util
DevCon
***HOW TO ... Delete the Upper & Lower Filters!***

If you expect help then please use the powerful SEARCH. Try ThreatFire
I am looking for DVD-R for Authoring & HD DVD media. Please PM me if you can help me.

Vamos Tribbles! V-a-m-o-s!!
_chef_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware problem: AD 7240S leaving physical "gaps" on burns gastankm3 NEC / Optiarc Writer 16 12-09-2009 14:17
"POWER CALIBRATION ERROR" with NEC AD 7173 klauzer NEC / Optiarc Writer 5 16-02-2007 09:55
I continue to get "POWER CALIBRATION ERROR" or NO SEEK COMPLETE errors bmunsen Newbie Forum 11 11-04-2006 08:50
PLEXTOR CD-R PX-W8432T "power calibration error" GRooVeZ Plextor Writer 7 04-12-2003 11:48
Everytime I try to write a DVD I get and error, "Power calibration Error" within Nero P3pp3ram1 Newbie Forum 3 24-04-2003 13:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:02.
Top