damn - I've been conned!
| Music Downloads, File Sharing and Legal issues Discuss, damn - I've been conned! at Movies & Music forum; Just thought I'd pass this on - thinking I was subscribing to a legit, legal mp3 download site, I handed over my c/card details etc to this site http://mp3downloadhq.com only to find that after subscribing and logging in, it lists various FREE software apps and some comments - Limewire is |
- #1
| Just thought I'd pass this on - thinking I was subscribing to a legit, legal mp3 download site, I handed over my c/card details etc to this site http://mp3downloadhq.com only to find that after subscribing and logging in, it lists various FREE software apps and some comments - Limewire is their favourite. ..... and I thought I was clever! Here's their confirmation email .............................. Welcome to the worlds greatest file sharing software website on the internet! Please print out this page for your records. Billing information Membership type:1 Year Full & Unlimited Access for a total of 17.88 $ USD Pro Version Upgrade - Movie Codec Pack for a total of 14.95 $ USD NetSpyProtector Option - Protect yourself from malware for a total of 9.88 $ USD Grand total: 42.71 $ USD Membership information Order ID #: 55702005061 To login please use the email address used for signing up. To begin enjoying your membership, please go to <http://mp3downloadhq.com/me/login.asp> Note: You will find your additional upgrade software in our member's area under the 'bonus software' section. Sincerely, Customer Support department |
- Today (MyCE Staff)
- Posts: 15,596
| |
- #2
__________________ My System: P4 2.8b @ 3.44 (165x21), GA-8INXP, XFX 6600GT @ 580MHZ GPU & 1.18GHZ MEM, HYUNDAI L90D+, SBLIVE, 500W FORTRON BLUE STORM, MAXTOR120GB 8MB CACHE, MAXTOR300GB 16MB CACHE, 4x KVR400X64C25/256 @ 330 (2-2-2-5 2.7v), NEC3500A, SOHD-16P9S, LTR-52246S, CHIEFTECH CASE. |
- #3
| Whoa! Thanks for tipping us off! I wonder if you can't contest this charge with your credit card company. Or at least tell them what happened. Surely you are not the first and maybe they can help you stop payment. I can see how you could get fooled, that's one slick looking website. Good luck dude and thanks again for alerting the community. |
- #4
| Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
- #5
| Quote:
you should've investigated them first before the plunge!!! |
- #6
| That's been written about in a couple of magazines and the help isn't worth the money. It is similar to the site in this thread: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=141825 |
- #7
- #8
| your not the first one that happened to, their also trying to sell open source p2p programs!! (along with a couple of trojans now and then) they are working together with this site and/or are actually the same company: http://www.shareza.com/ or http://www.shereaza.com/ - note this sites are trying to lure ppl off from the real http://www.shareaza.com/ site, a good open source p2p app that runs on ed2k, Gnutella, Gnutella2 and bittorrent |
- #9
| Even if it were legit, I wouldn't of signed up as it says "Average Download Speed - 128kbps" now my math is a bit shite after a few beers but that is only 16kB/s so not worth the effort. This is the 1 problem with the GPL/GNU license.. if I understand it properly, you can use the code in your own programs and then do whatever the hell you want. So if you copy the entire code and recompile it, it becomes your own program that you can sell if you want. (Please correct me if I am wrong and be happy to flame my ass)
__________________ AMD Athlon X2 4200+ Corsiar 2048MB PC4300 DDR2 RAM ATI Radeon X1950XT 256MB 80GB+60GB Western Digital IDE HDDs 250GB WD Caviar SATA2 HDD Lite-ON SOHW-1673S Omnipatched JS0B FW Lite-On LTR-32125W CDRW Drive |
- #10
| you aint the only one,search google for active publishing and "mp3downloadhq.com" with quotes and youll see,anyway have a look at this info http://www.networksolutions.com/en_U...questid=473691 that domain had been registered at http://www.register.com contact em tell em your story and stuff maybe they will remove it also contact the company that hosts it which is http://www.techienetworks.com |
- #11
| SHIT my brother sigend up to that I knew he was FUCKING getting conned!! Ha now I can rub it in his face!!
__________________ Like Death Metal? Click here to listen to my favorite Station. My Computer Specs: - AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+ 2.51 GHz - Windows Vista Ultimate - 3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs - 250GB Western Digital Hard Drive and a 160gb Seagate - 16x DVD+/-RW Drive - 7.1 Channel Audio My GFX Card: - 512 GDDR3 XFX GeForce 9600 GT OC My Favorite Apps: - Ad Muncher - Yodm - Utorrent - WinPatrol Click Here To Join ClubCDfreaks |
- #12
| Quote:
|
- #13
| Rabbi, yes and no, depends on the GPL in question. If they are supplying a p-2-p software like eMule they are legally bliged to provide the source code too, if they do not they are breaking the law. If they take the code to eMule, and don't modify it then complile it, then it is still eMule and not theres. Anyone is allowed to charge for open source software to cover the costs of "delivery" and storage, again as long as they provide the source code. The thing about these sites is that they are not charging for the software but for the "customer service" which isn't worth the money. |
- #14
| I should tell him.
__________________ Like Death Metal? Click here to listen to my favorite Station. My Computer Specs: - AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+ 2.51 GHz - Windows Vista Ultimate - 3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz- 2DIMMs - 250GB Western Digital Hard Drive and a 160gb Seagate - 16x DVD+/-RW Drive - 7.1 Channel Audio My GFX Card: - 512 GDDR3 XFX GeForce 9600 GT OC My Favorite Apps: - Ad Muncher - Yodm - Utorrent - WinPatrol Click Here To Join ClubCDfreaks |
- #15
| Quote:
"THE PURCHASE OF A MEMBERSHIP is NON-REFUNDABLE . After your evaluation period of 7 days, even if you are no longer using the service, you may not request a refund of the total or partial amount of your membership. Should you want a refund for any reason are within your evaluation period, you may request it by contacting customer service at 866-240-2760. We reserve the right to charge processing fees for any refund that you requested." And if they try to charge a processing fee do a chargeback. Your credit card company, I assume, will take a pretty dim view of these scammers. |
- #16
| Quote:
I was doing a search on google about NetSpyProtector. I do not really see why Gilby is dramaticaly upset about. I made the search for knowing if it is good or not ? Is it dangerous logicial ? Thank you very much... |
There's more to MyCE.com
Listen up, we've got more. Product information on 107,830 products. Our experts have written 523 articles. We've gathered 16,131 news items for you to always keep updated.
Posting Rules
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
People who found this also searched for
- 866-240-2760
- b 101 conned
- been conned
- codec pro pack netspyprotector
- flat rate membership for music downloads
- gkr how to get refund of membership
- help ive been conned by carcraft
- i have been conned
- i've been conned
- i've been conned online. what can i do?
- i've been conned what do i do?
- napster only partial refund
- netspyprotector
- welcome to the world's greatest file sharing software website on the internet!
- welcome to the worlds greatest file sharing software website on the internet
- what can i do when i have been conned
