Old 02-12-2006   #1
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

I've been having problems in connecting to any file available on Frostwire. I can connect to their server alright but whenever I try downloading anything, it always says 'Connecting' and then after a few minutes it says, 'Need More Sources'. This despite me picking a file that has over a 100 hits.

It can't be an ISP problem because I can still download from Azureus without any problems. And I have the latest version of Frostwire installed in case anyone's wondering.

Is anyone else having problems with Frostwire?

Naturally, I'm assuming the worst. I heard that Limewire is now being watched by the feds. So is Frostwire now going the same way?
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #2
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Hello? Anyone out there?
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.


So I'm assuming that nobody here is having problems with Frostwire.
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 23
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Limewire hasn't been working for me and several friends for a few weeks, i'm assuming somethings wrong with it. Frostwire uses the name network as Limewire i'm also assuming you are experiencing the same problem as me, i'm just waiting for a new version and most probably a fix i would suggest that you do the same.
Incubus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006   #4
CDFreaks Resident
 
coathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: København
Posts: 1,514
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soneman
Hello? Anyone out there?
Embedded Images

View/download images and remove advertisements by registering now! (it's easy, free and takes less than a minute)

You must be registered in order view images in this forum.
Yes there is
I haven't used it for a wile ( ages ) and just tried it after reading your post and my one works fine and tested it downloading something and the downloads are very fast it's working at full speed. Have you updated Java to the latest version? I tried it with Frostwire version 4.10.9
coathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006   #5
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by coathi
Yes there is
I haven't used it for a wile ( ages ) and just tried it after reading your post and my one works fine and tested it downloading something and the downloads are very fast it's working at full speed. Have you updated Java to the latest version? I tried it with Frostwire version 4.10.9
Well, I've just downloaded and installed Java Runtime v5 update 9 and also downloaded and installed Frostwire v4.13.1 and I'm still having the same problems as before.

I can connect to their servers okay (Frostwire says I'm connected via a Turbo-Charged Connection) but when I try downloading something, it tries connecting to all 100 sources but at the end says "Need More Sources". These are both the latest versions of Java and Frostwire as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incubus911
Limewire hasn't been working for me and several friends for a few weeks, i'm assuming somethings wrong with it. Frostwire uses the same network as Limewire i'm also assuming you are experiencing the same problem as me, i'm just waiting for a new version and most probably a fix i would suggest that you do the same.
How long will this fix take to come out? I hope it's not too long a wait. Frostwire hasn't been working for me for about 6 weeks now.

Are there any alternative apps out there that you could recommend?
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006   #6
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 23
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

I'm not sure how long that fix will take or if there will even be one ( I'm not sure if Limewire will be around much longer ). Two application i would suggest that are quite similar are Ares and Emule Plus, both i have found to be quite good.
Incubus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006   #7
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incubus911
I'm not sure how long that fix will take or if there will even be one ( I'm not sure if Limewire will be around much longer ). Two application i would suggest that are quite similar are Ares and Emule Plus, both i have found to be quite good.
I'll give Ares a try then.

Is Emule Plus free? It sounds commercial to me. And also, does it contain any spyware and adware?
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006   #8
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 23
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Neither contain Spyware to the best of my knowledge. Emule Plus is free and both contain no advertising.
Incubus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Have you ever thought that this is another way of stopping you from downloading songs. I was on last night without any trouble, but avoided things such as no bit rate, or large numbers of holders. Picking a song with 100 hits just seems to good to be true. Should I state the obvious?
gclark1030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006   #10
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 23
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Yeah, although thats true. I find it hard to believe this problem would arise over night.
Incubus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006   #11
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gclark1030
Have you ever thought that this is another way of stopping you from downloading songs. I was on last night without any trouble, but avoided things such as no bit rate, or large numbers of holders. Picking a song with 100 hits just seems to good to be true. Should I state the obvious?
I've tried songs with a lower number of sharers and I still have the exact same problem.

I've given Ares and EMule Plus a go now and both seem to be working fine and downloading at near full speed. So it looks like the Frostwire/Limewire network is down at the moment.
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2007   #12
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

I really don't have that many problems with Frostwire. I do have problems trying to locate movies I have downloaded. When I use Nero & try to burn a file, I have trouble locating it. Is anyone else having this problem. What't the best location to save a movie file for burning later?
Slippery Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2007   #13
CDFreaks Resident
 
coathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: København
Posts: 1,514
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slippery Sam
I do have problems trying to locate movies I have downloaded. When I use Nero & try to burn a file, I have trouble locating it. Is anyone else having this problem.
No can't say I ever had a problem locating anything I downloaded.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slippery Sam
What't the best location to save a movie file for burning later?
In a folder called Downloads
coathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2007   #14
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 692
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

I just thought I'd say that FrostWire is working for me again.

Download speeds back to what they used to be as well.
soneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2007   #15
CDFreaks Resident
 
coathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: København
Posts: 1,514
Re: Anyone having problems with Frostwire?

coathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Limewire Pro vs Frostwire. SG Downloading & File Sharing 8 11-08-2009 16:06
Frostwire troubleshoot please anabolism Downloading & File Sharing 7 17-05-2007 00:32
Exit LimeWire enter FrostWire RADicalSatDude Downloading & File Sharing 11 05-10-2005 23:39
Problems copying DVD-RW in VR mode & problems making compilations andybr67 Newbie Forum 0 11-03-2005 09:08
ripping problems, extracting problems, reading problems, ... Mattel007 General Hardware Forum 5 03-02-2000 20:09


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:35.
Top