Old 25-05-2005   #1
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Make a backup of your CD/DVD navigation disc

I have a Navtech DVD car navigation disc, adn I want to make a back up
for safety reasons
The original is 7,8GB big.
What software do I have to use to make this copy?


Edit by kalas 10 February 2007

I stickied this post today as many users want to make a backup of their CD/DVD navigation disc. Start reading this thread and try the suggested methods before you post! If it's not working use this thread and describe your problem including the model of your navigation system, the version of your navigation disc, region of the disc (EU, USA, Spain, Germany, UK,...), program you used (including version), settings and your brand/type of your blank media used for the backup (Use DVD Identifier for DVDs and CDR Idenfier for your CDs). I'll delete all post which don't contain any information which is mentioned here and requests for missing files, discs, etc... to keep this thread clean! Here are some links to other threads which may also solve your problem found via our forum search using navigation as keyword.


Blaupunkt/TeleAtlas DX Navi-CD

Blaupunkt TRAVELPILOT E1 Benelux and Major Roads EU

GM Navigation Disc

Acura Navigation Dvd...i Burnt It, It Worked!!! -- Now I Got Another Question

TESTED: Backup Teleatlas DX 2007 2008

p.s. Everyone who successfully created a backup is more than welcome posting how she/he did it, thanks in advance kalas.

Last edited by kalas; 13-02-2008 at 11:56. Reason: update
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005   #2
Top Referrer
 
bcn_246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,649
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

I think your only option is to use a DVD+DL disc.

Ben
__________________
Click HERE to join CDFreaks... do it or I will dead you.
bcn_246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005   #3
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Ok, thanks for your reply.
I'm gonna try that.

Do you perhaps know whether these discs have a copy protection?
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2005   #4
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Unfortunately that didn't work.

Already messed up 2 DVD DL discs

The size of the copy some kb's smaller then the orginal dvd.
I am afraid that some kind of protection is installed as well.

With which program can I check DVD's on protection software?
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005   #5
Legal Senior Admin
 
philamber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: True Blue
Posts: 7,197
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

A-Ray Scanner.
__________________
¿?*¤»~Hôw Çåñ ï m裏 ¥ôü ïf ¥ôü wôñ'± gô åwå¥~»¤*¿?
philamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005   #6
Top Referrer
 
bcn_246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,649
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

1. Scan with A-Ray
2. Let us know what protection it uses
3. Hopefully- we will be able to tell you how to make a backup copy (still on a DL disc).

What was the error it gave you when you tried it in your car navigation system? What is the name of the software exactly?

Ben
__________________
Click HERE to join CDFreaks... do it or I will dead you.
bcn_246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005   #7
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 127
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Use DVD Decrypter in ISO mode to read & write disk
Make sure the dual layer disk burnt is set to booktype DVD-ROM
fljoemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2005   #8
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Thanks for your reactions.

If I scan with A Ray 2.0.2.2 it informs me that there is no protection detected.

The original disk is 7,8GB

A Ray gives the following info:
Size:4018MB
Length:7:37:14:12
Sectors:2057562
Data Tracks:1
Audio Tracks:0

I find it strange that A Ray comes up with 4018MB, compared to the original disc of 7,8GB.

I have also tried to make an iso file of it, that one became 8,1GB.

The disc gives the following information:
Ver.2.1 2004-2005
Navigation System
86283AG051
Navteq

Hopefully you can give me some help.

Thanks in advance

André
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2005   #9
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

@fljoemon, i now made an iso on my hard dsic with DVD Decrypter. Does DVD Decrypter
support DL discs? Or do you use antother program to burn the iso?
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005   #10
Legal Senior Admin
 
philamber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: True Blue
Posts: 7,197
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Dvd Decrypter supports dual layer burning. In fact it's probably the best app to use to burn a dual layer disc as it's perhaps the only one that consistently gets the layer break in the right place. Just use Iso write mode and load the image from the .mds file.
__________________
¿?*¤»~Hôw Çåñ ï m裏 ¥ôü ïf ¥ôü wôñ'± gô åwå¥~»¤*¿?
philamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005   #11
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

OK, I will give it a try this evening. Thanks.

Does anyone know why A Ray comes up with a file that is 4018MB big?
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2005   #12
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

fljoemon and philamber you're great.

Your tips did the trick. Thanks a lot
andre*k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2005   #13
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bedrock
Posts: 3
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

I have the GM Ver.3.0 Nav disk. Tried to make two backups with no success.
I used Verbatum +R DL disk
with a Pioneer A08 DVD - DL Drive with the latest firmware upgrades.
Used DVD Decrypter in ISO mode to read
Used DVD Decrypter in ISO mode to write using the MDS file.
My computer says 'Write Successful' However when I put it into the Nav unit I get an error message.

Anyone backup this DVD yet? I'd hate to have a problem with the original an need to pay 400 plus to GM for a replacement.
FredFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2005   #14
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Quote:
Originally Posted by fljoemon
Use DVD Decrypter in ISO mode to read & write disk
Make sure the dual layer disk burnt is set to booktype DVD-ROM
How do you selct the "booktype DVD-ROM) option when burning the backup copy. I created an image on my hard drive of the disc but when I burn it I can't find the option to make it a "Booktype"
elgolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2005   #15
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 127
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Your burner has to be "Booktype" capable. I own a BenQ 1620 DVD burner that is capable of changing the booktype of DVD+R to DVD-ROM. Also most of the NEC DVD burners with patched firmwares can support changing booktypes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by elgolds
How do you selct the "booktype DVD-ROM) option when burning the backup copy. I created an image on my hard drive of the disc but when I burn it I can't find the option to make it a "Booktype"
fljoemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006   #16
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Hi All, I have come for some advice off the masters as it seems you have already helped someone else with the same problem. I am new to this fourm so please forgive me if a get things wrong.

I have a legal copy of the Volvo RTI DVD Nav disks part no t1000-9524c and want to back it up to use instead of the originals. The manufactures of the disks is Navteq.

I have made a ISO copy using DVD Decrypter v3.5.4.0 using default settings. When I write the disk back using an LG DVD writer that supports booktype all I seem to dois turn the disk in to coasters (5 in total now )

When I write the Iso file back using DVD Decrypter v3.5.4.0 to a DL +R DL disk that I have set the booktype to “change for” dvd +r dl and the new setting to DVD –Rom.

A Ray say that there is no protection

The original disk size = 6.70GB or 7,201,683,456 bytes with no free bytes
The copied disk size = same as above and when viewed in windows it has the same file name and even says it’s a dvd –rom

When the copied disk is inserted the system does the following

1 message saying please wait, after about a minute you get another message
2 The disk in the dvd player cannot be read please check disk

Sorry for the long post just wanted to get as much info in as poss.

Any ideas would be greatly received Cheers for now
V7olw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006   #17
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 127
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Hello V7olw,

Couple of questions ...

1) Which brand od Dual Layer disk are you using?
2) Are you selecting the the MDS file when using DVDDecrypter to write back the the ISO copy?
fljoemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006   #18
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Hi fljoemon

Yes I am sure I used the mds file when burning the iso file back to disk,

the dvd disk I have turned in to coasters are RiDisc dvd +r DL 8.5GB 240mins 2.4x speed.

Thanks
V7olw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006   #19
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 127
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

I have used only Verbatim Dual Layer Disks for the navigation backups. Could you please try using Verbatim and burn them only at 2.4x.
fljoemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006   #20
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

I will give it ago, thanks
V7olw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006   #21
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

I have tried with the Verbatim DL disks (£29.99 for 5), all I can say is so close but so far away.

The splash screen (Volvo RTI system) now shows, but then it colse blank and comes back again. Seems to be in a loop and I can hear the DVD player in the back trying desparatly to rean the information. Sat for about 3 or 4 mins before I got fed up with waithing.

All I can think to do now is try another DVD recorder, any other suggestions?
V7olw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006   #22
CD Freaks Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 127
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Hello V7owl,

Try putting in your original DVD Navigation disc in your system and then eject it out and put in the copy immediately. See whether that works.

The only other thing might be to try a different DVD burner. I had burnt mine on a BenQ 1620.
fljoemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006   #23
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 29
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Any of you know how to copy CD navi Blaupunkt E ?

Blaupunkt DX is protected with Safedisc 3.1 so it's easy to make backup, but E system is protected by unknown protection... Anyone tried to copy E ?
leser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006   #24
MyCE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 420
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Quote:
The splash screen (Volvo RTI system) now shows, but then it colse blank and comes back again. Seems to be in a loop and I can hear the DVD player in the back trying desparatly to rean the information. Sat for about 3 or 4 mins before I got fed up with waithing.

All I can think to do now is try another DVD recorder, any other suggestions?
What speed are you ripping the original at.

As if it is the same as console games you need to (for some reason i am yet to understand) rip them at the slowest speed possible, 1x or 2x.
Anthony1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2006   #25
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: Make backup of DVD navigation disc

Hi All,

Sorry it's been a while the reason is I have been trying to obtain / borrow a benq 1620 dvd writer just to see it that made any difference.

I have tried the swap trick and yes the copy worked , so in my novice opinion that means the ISO I have created works, so a real step in the right direction.

I can try writing the disk at a slower speed but I really don't want to waist another disk if it is possibly down to the LG writer I am currently using.

Anyway that's all for now folks and I must say I am really appreciative of all the help you have already given, as it has given me a way forward.
V7olw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup of Teleatlas DX 2007/2008 navigation disc morphdj Copy Protection 2 28-03-2008 00:59
Pioneer navigation dvd --- need to make backup Installer General Software 7 15-12-2007 11:59
A Strange problem with backup a DVD navigation disc ?? Dr.nav Copy Protection 0 26-05-2007 11:16
Navigation Disc Backup mattd5541 Newbie Forum 5 20-03-2006 11:48
backup navigation cd gangster429 Copy Protection 3 02-03-2005 23:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:09.
Top