Old 20-07-2006   #1
MyCE Senior Member
 
burnselk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Almost Heaven
Posts: 486
XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

What's the difference between these two types of monitors?

Are they interchangable?

Will a VGA monitor be sufficient if my Adobe Premeire Elements 2.0 calls for an XGA monitor?

I've already purchased both the monitor and the software.
burnselk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2006   #2
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 624
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnselk
What's the difference between these two types of monitors?

Are they interchangable?

Will a VGA monitor be sufficient if my Adobe Premeire Elements 2.0 calls for an XGA monitor?

I've already purchased both the monitor and the software.
VGA is 640x480 resolution and XGA is 1024x768. The monitor would have to be very old to only support VGA. Modern day monitors support at least XGA.
FreqNasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2006   #3
MyCE Resident
 
bichonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jouy-le-Moutier, Fr
Posts: 1,478
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

SVGA is 1024X768.
XVGA is 1280X1024.
bichonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006   #4
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 624
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bichonn
SVGA is 1024X768.
XVGA is 1280X1024.
No, that is all wrong
SVGA is 800x600
XVGA = no such thing, you mean XGA and it is 1024x768
SXGA is 1280x1024

As for the original question of whether or not Adobe Premiere will run, is the resolution specification a required one or recommended? If XGA is required then VGA won't work, if it's just recommended then VGA should work.
FreqNasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006   #5
MyCE Resident
 
bichonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jouy-le-Moutier, Fr
Posts: 1,478
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

right, got mixed up!!
bichonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006   #6
MyCE Senior Member
 
burnselk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Almost Heaven
Posts: 486
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreqNasty
As for the original question of whether or not Adobe Premiere will run, is the resolution specification a required one or recommended? If XGA is required then VGA won't work, if it's just recommended then VGA should work.
Under "System Requirements" the box says: 1024 x 768 16 bit XGA display.
burnselk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006   #7
MyCE Resident
 
jwill427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 1,343
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

you should be fine, I had a CRT from 1997 that supported 1280x1024
__________________
Fold for team 13505
Help us save some lives by joining the Distributed Computing Teams

Main rig(aka Arachne's NEW new PC^2 ): Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.6ghz (for now )Folding GPU + SMP 24/7
#2: AMD 4000+ x2 @ 2.4GHz WCG when on
Laptop: Celeron 520 1.6ghz @ 2.0ghz WCG when plugged in


Full specs here Finally updated!

CD Freak for life!
jwill427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2006   #8
MyCE Senior Member
 
burnselk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Almost Heaven
Posts: 486
Re: XGA vs VGA - Which one is best?

Thanks guys....I now know what they mean....I think.

Why is it when I set my display to the resolution of 1280 X 1024 the IE and web pages are displayed so small I can't stand to view it?

I would hope the entire 17" monitor screen would be filled with IE or the web.....but it's not....who wants to look at a monitor that's about 2/3rds full of display?

Am I doing something wrong here?
burnselk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 256mb vga and 512mb vga? Taru General Hardware Forum 11 29-07-2007 18:39
512mb Vga! Mr. Belvedere General Hardware Forum 7 24-02-2005 17:34
VGA probleem? spooky20 Dutch: De Woonkamer 4 30-12-2004 02:54
Is a XGA display neccesary for a gaming latop? dfourthhorseman General Hardware Forum 2 04-12-2003 06:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:15.
Top