Old 25-04-2004   #1
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
My mouse scroll wheel won't work! *cries*

About half an hour ago, I noticed that when I tried to roll the mouse wheel to scroll up/down a mouse page, it wouldn't work! Now, the majority of us here at CDFreaks have a mouse with a scroll wheel. And I bet the majority of them have gone to work/school/friends house - tried to scroll, only to find there isn't a wheel! It seems like someone is picking on me .
Is there any way that could help me to fix the problem? I tried restarting and using the search, but nothing...

I have a Labtec mouse...has a ball (not optical)...it has a glowing red scroll wheel. That's all I know until I can be screwed to look for the box.

I can do the click and scroll thing with it, so it is connected properly. And I can scroll through drop-down menus as well.

TIA
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2004   #2
Letiled Modelatol
 
Airhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: La Suède
Posts: 7,117
Click and scroll thing = click the wheel and move the mouse to scroll?

Can you open your mouse without too much of a hassle?
__________________
  • This line is currently vacant. Or Is It???
  • You want fast answers? Use our search. <-- Or else!
  • If you have not already, read our rules! <-- Or else again!
  • bcn_246: "Wales are shitty animals to, all they do is swim around and make funny noises that people cant hear."
  • You really should join us on IRC! IrcNet, #cdfreaks-int | Or go here
  • Fear my massive avatar history log! Not updated!
  • "But do they keep increasing in size like mine?" - kwkard
Airhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2004   #3
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Yes and yes
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004   #4
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Remove the mouse driver in safe mode would probably reinstall the standard mouse driver XP has.

You didn't accidentally installed on of those multimedia extra's did you ?
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004   #5
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
I did recently put on that Windows Security Update CD, but I forgot whether that was before or after the problem....

I will try and find the CD with the driver
...Wish me luck!
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004   #6
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
No luck...It's there somewhere, but I had a better solution.... www.labtec.com !
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004   #7
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Ok, I installed the driver and restarted...
It wouldn't work, so I changed settings from 'Scroll x lines per scroll unit', to 'Scroll one page per scroll unit' and it worked. Problem is, it works too fast, I liked the 3 line one . Should I install it in safemode (would that work?)
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2004   #8
MyCE Resident
 
Mr. Belvedere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: (╯°□°)╯ ლ(ಠ益ಠ)ლ
Posts: 19,338
Quote:
Originally posted by theone1_
Ok, I installed the driver and restarted...
It wouldn't work, so I changed settings from 'Scroll x lines per scroll unit', to 'Scroll one page per scroll unit' and it worked. Problem is, it works too fast, I liked the 3 line one . Should I install it in safemode (would that work?)
I doubt it , the moment you boot under normal mode , the history of drivers is the current one again (damn you xp , at least win95 showed all drivers , which resulted in 28 different drivers for your mouse).

Can you also change the response time of the mouse itself ? Usually it's just 100 or 50 polls per second , but you can crank it up to 200.
__________________
"Use the force Harry!" - Gandalf
Mr. Belvedere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2004   #9
MyCE Resident
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,941
Options are:

Wheel Mode:
-System default ( Intelli-mouse) mode.
-Enhanced scroll mode

Wheel Speed:
-Scroll x lines per scroll unit
-Scroll one page per scroll unit

That's all
Crappy Driver settings...
theone1_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverted mouse or normal mouse when playing FPS ? Mr. Belvedere Living Room 29 14-04-2014 02:18
Menu scroll will not work pass screen 1 danzil Newbie Forum 2 14-04-2005 03:22
Change volume level of your PC by simply rotating the mouse wheel actuals General Software 2 29-11-2004 22:15
Scroll Mouse won't work SirDavidGuy General Software 3 22-08-2002 20:55
MS Optical Wheel Mouse - $6.22 after $10 rebate mrtt Bargain Basement 1 30-06-2002 06:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:34.
Top